Dog and cat food brand
Acana dog food and cat food in India
Acana and Orijen come out of the same two Canadian and American kitchens, belong to the same owner and reach India through the same unacknowledged importer. The difference is the recipe, and Champion states it plainly on its own site in a figure no Indian listing carries: Acana is at least 50 percent animal ingredients, Orijen is 85 to 90, and both numbers are weighed before the food is cooked.
Quick answer
Acana dog food is Champion Petfoods' second brand, made alongside Orijen in Champion's own kitchens in Alberta and Kentucky and owned by Mars since February 2023. Champion states Acana at "at least 50%" animal ingredients against Orijen's 85 to 90 percent, and no Indian listing carries either figure. It is imported by GNV Commodities Private Limited. A 14.5 kg bag of Classic Prairie Poultry runs from Rs 10,199 to Rs 13,499.
At a glance
The table below is what can be established about this brand from primary records, and what cannot. Every row reading "Not established" is written up in full at the foot of the page, with what was looked for and where.
| Record | What the primary sources show |
|---|---|
| Brand | Acana |
| Also sold as | ACANA, Acana Classics, Acana Singles, Champion Petfoods |
| Species | Dog and cat |
| Corporate owner | Mars, Incorporated |
| Indian entity | GNV Commodities Private Limited (CIN U67190DL2013PTC259674) |
| FSSAI licence | Not established, see below |
| Retailer's own brand | No |
Where it is made
Origin is recorded per product, not per brand, because it varies per product. The evidence column says how strong each row is: a pack in hand outranks a filing, and a marketplace listing is the weakest thing here that is still evidence.
| Product or line | Made in | Evidence | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acana Puppy and the Supertails Acana range generally | Canada, made by Champion Petfoods LP | Retailer listing (weak) | "Country of Origin: Canada" with "Name & Address of Manufacturer: Champion Petfoods LP, 301, 1103 95 Street SW, Edmonton, AB T6CX 0P8, Canada", and "Imported by" and "Marketed by" both reading "GNV Commodities Private Limited, 310, Kuthambakkam Road Mevalur Kuppam Sriperumbudur Chennai Tamil Nadu (IN) 602105 India". The same invalid postal code appears on this seller's Orijen listings, so it is one transcription propagated across a catalogue rather than a single typo. |
| Acana Light & Fit (Heads Up For Tails listing) | Canada, with an Indian importer named and no manufacturer | Retailer listing (weak) | A second independent seller declaring Canada, with "Imported & Marketed by" giving the same GNV Commodities entity at the same Chennai address, and net quantity stated per variant. No manufacturer is printed. This page also carries two AAFCO references and uses the phrase free-run twelve times without defining it. |
| Acana Grass-Fed Lamb (Zigly listing) | Canada | Retailer listing (weak) | Zigly declares "Country of Origin: Canada" on its Acana pages while declaring no country at all on its Orijen pages, which shows the Orijen omission is a catalogue gap rather than a policy. It names GNV Commodities under the ambiguous single field "Manufacturer or Importers Name" and prints no manufacturer. |
| Acana as sold by DogKart, the importer's own storefront | Not stated | Retailer listing (weak) | The shop operated by the company named as importer on every other seller's listings publishes no statutory block on its Acana pages: no country of origin, no manufacturer and no importer, with the word Canada appearing only in marketing copy. A buyer shopping at the importer's own storefront therefore gets less label information than a buyer shopping anywhere else. |
| Acana and Orijen, as described by Champion Petfoods itself | Champion's own kitchens at Acheson, Alberta and Auburn, Kentucky | Brand's own site | "We opened our custom-built DogStar Kitchen in Auburn, Kentucky, USA" and "In December 2019, we opened our new NorthStar kitchen, in Acheson, Alberta". Champion owns and operates both plants rather than contracting manufacture out, which is the exception in this research and is the strongest thing that can be said for the brand's supply chain. Which kitchen fills the Indian bags is not stated. |
| The Indian importer and marketer | Not applicable to origin; this row establishes who is answerable in India | Regulator record | GNV Commodities Private Limited, CIN U67190DL2013PTC259674, incorporated 28 October 2013, Active, Registrar of Companies Delhi, registered office at Chittaranjan Park in New Delhi, authorised and paid-up capital Rs 100,000 each, registry activity code 6719, last balance sheet recorded as filed 31 March 2023. Each of those has an ordinary explanation and none is evidence of anything improper on its own; the Orijen page sets them out in full. Neither Champion nor Mars names the company anywhere found. |
What it costs in India
Each row is one seller's listed price for one pack size on one date, converted to a price per kilogram so the pack sizes compare. Indian marketplace pricing moves, so a single listing is not a price and none of these is quoted on its own.
| Product | Pack | Price | Per kg | Seller | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 14.5 kg | 14.5 kg | Rs 10199.0 | Rs 703 | Petsworld | 2026-10-13 |
| Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 14.5 kg | 14.5 kg | Rs 12520.0 | Rs 863 | Zigly | 2026-10-13 |
| Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 14.5 kg | 14.5 kg | Rs 13499.0 | Rs 931 | Supertails | 2026-10-13 |
| Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 14.5 kg | 14.5 kg | Rs 13499.0 | Rs 931 | Heads Up For Tails | 2026-10-13 |
| Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 14.5 kg | 14.5 kg | Rs 13499.0 | Rs 931 | DogKart, operated by the importer | 2026-10-13 |
| Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 9.7 kg | 9.7 kg | Rs 7139.0 | Rs 736 | Petsworld | 2026-10-13 |
| Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 9.7 kg | 9.7 kg | Rs 9999.0 | Rs 1031 | Supertails | 2026-10-13 |
| Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 9.7 kg | 9.7 kg | Rs 8147.0 | Rs 840 | Zigly | 2026-10-13 |
| Acana Pacifica dry cat food, 1.8 kg | 1.8 kg | Rs 2804.0 | Rs 1558 | Petsworld | 2026-10-13 |
| Acana Pacifica dry cat food, 1.8 kg | 1.8 kg | Rs 3199.0 | Rs 1777 | Heads Up For Tails | 2026-10-13 |
| Acana Pacifica dry cat food, 1.8 kg | 1.8 kg | Rs 3393.0 | Rs 1885 | Zigly | 2026-10-13 |
| Acana Pacifica dry cat food, 1.8 kg | 1.8 kg | Rs 3499.0 | Rs 1944 | Supertails | 2026-10-13 |
| Acana Pacifica dry cat food, 1.8 kg | 1.8 kg | Rs 3499.0 | Rs 1944 | DogKart, operated by the importer | 2026-10-13 |
- Petsworld, Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 14.5 kg. Cheapest of the five by Rs 2,321, and the cheapest verified Acana rate per kilogram in India. Reference price shown is Rs 11,999, which on this particular listing is coherent; on four of this seller's other Acana listings the reference is the first variant's price copied into every row.
- Zigly, Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 14.5 kg. Out of stock when read, and carrying two defects at once: the displayed reference of Rs 11,999 sits BELOW the selling price, and the same seller charges the identical Rs 12,520 for the 17 kg bag, which would be Rs 736.47 per kg for the same money. Neither figure is used for anything except to show the fault.
- Supertails, Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 14.5 kg. Price equals its own displayed reference price, so no discount is shown on this or on any other Acana variant at this seller, exactly as on its Orijen range. Identical to the importer's own shop to the rupee.
- Heads Up For Tails, Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 14.5 kg. No reference price shown on this variant. This seller does discount the 2 kg packs across the Acana range, to Rs 2,299 against a Rs 2,599 reference on this recipe, so the full-price position applies to the large bags rather than the whole shop.
- DogKart, operated by the importer, Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 14.5 kg. The storefront run by GNV Commodities, the company named as importer and marketer on the other four sellers' Acana listings. Shows no reference price and therefore no discount on anything, and publishes no statutory block on its Acana pages at all.
- Petsworld, Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 9.7 kg. Rs 32.60 per kg more than the same seller's 14.5 kg, which is the normal direction for a pack-size ladder and is worth stating because two other sellers on this brand have theirs inverted.
- Supertails, Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 9.7 kg. Rs 1,030.82 per kg against Petsworld's Rs 735.98 for the identical bag, which is 40.1 percent above it and the widest gap between those two sellers on any Acana pack read.
- Zigly, Acana Classic Prairie Poultry dry dog food, 9.7 kg. Dearer per kilogram than this seller's own 6 kg at Rs 4,999, which works out at Rs 833.17, so buying the bigger bag at this shop costs more per kilogram than buying the smaller one.
- Petsworld, Acana Pacifica dry cat food, 1.8 kg. Cheapest of the five on the cat range too. Acana sells three cat foods in India, Pacifica, Bountiful Catch and Indoor Entree, and cat food runs considerably dearer per kilogram than dog food across this brand.
- Heads Up For Tails, Acana Pacifica dry cat food, 1.8 kg. Reference price Rs 3,499, which is the figure Supertails and DogKart charge outright, so this seller's discount is measured against the importer's own price.
- Zigly, Acana Pacifica dry cat food, 1.8 kg. Reference price Rs 3,499, the same importer figure, discounted by 3 percent.
- Supertails, Acana Pacifica dry cat food, 1.8 kg. 24.8 percent above Petsworld for the same bag. Price equals reference price, so no discount is shown.
- DogKart, operated by the importer, Acana Pacifica dry cat food, 1.8 kg. Identical to Supertails, and the figure the other two sellers display as the reference they discount from. The pattern across both Champion brands is that the importer's own price is the market's ceiling.
Recall checks
Each register below was searched for this brand, and then searched again for something comparable to prove it answers at all. A register that returns nothing for both has cleared nothing. India maintains no pet food recall register, so no row here can stand in for one.
| Register | Hits for this brand | Control | What a nil result is worth here | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| US FDA Animal & Veterinary recalls | 0 | 2 for the identical filtered view for pedigree, which returns "Showing 1 to 2 of 2 entries", both rows naming Mars Petcare US, Inc., dated 2 July 2026 and 18 May 2024 | Meaningful but window-bounded to about three years | 2026-10-13 |
| openFDA enforcement API | 0 | 2 for product_description:"dog food", the identical method on the same day | Nothing: the API does not index animal food | 2026-10-13 |
Read the control before the nil. Pedigree and Acana have shared an owner since 28 February 2023, so a query that returns two dated Pedigree rows from Mars Petcare US while returning nothing for acana or champion petfoods shows the register indexes this brand's own corporate parent and holds no Acana entry. Two limits. The FDA listing holds 63 entries and sends older material to a separate archive, with the oldest row surfaced by the control dated May 2024, so the FDA register is a United States window rather than the whole history of the brand. And the Indian product is imported from Canada by a third party, so the FDA register covers the manufacturer's US distribution rather than the Indian consignments. Separately and importantly, this nil says nothing about the 67 adverse-event reports naming Acana in FDA's dilated cardiomyopathy investigation, which are not recalls and are set out in full on this page with FDA's own statement that such counts do not establish causation.
Published only to record that the endpoint was queried, because it carries two independent reasons to disregard it. First, coverage: the openFDA food enforcement endpoint was tested against known positives and 0 of 7 firms with documented pet food recalls return any row from it, including the Pedigree recall of 2 July 2026 that the US FDA animal and veterinary register does carry, while human-food controls on the same openFDA endpoint return 42 rows for one firm and 1,354 for one category. Second, jurisdiction: it is a United States register and the Indian product is imported from Canada. Either reason alone would make this nil uninformative about this brand.
Acana and Orijen are one company, and that company is Mars
Champion Petfoods makes only two brands, Acana and Orijen, and Mars completed its acquisition of Champion on 28 February 2023, so a buyer weighing the two is comparing two recipes from one owner.
The chain, briefly, because it is the same one. Mars Petcare announced a definitive agreement on 1 November 2022 and announced completion on 28 February 2023, saying Champion "will operate as an independent business unit within Mars Pet Nutrition". The seller's own announcement describes a majority stake held since 2009 and names a third investor the buyer's announcement does not. The full account, including the discrepancy, is on the Orijen page.
Champion's About page still names no owner. Read on 13 October 2026, it says the company has been making Acana and Orijen since 1985 and does not mention Mars, and nor do its FAQ, Contact or heart-disease response pages, all of which rendered fully. The Mars relationship appears in the boilerplate of the company's own press releases.
So an Indian buyer comparing Acana against Orijen is comparing two brands from one company, and comparing either against Royal Canin or Pedigree is still comparing against the same owner. Four of the brands this directory covers belong to Mars, and not one of their packs discloses it. That is not a criticism of any of them; it is a fact a shortlist has to carry, because a reader who thinks they are choosing between four companies is choosing between one.
What actually differs between the two brands, in Champion's own numbers. Acana is the lower-inclusion line. Champion's Acana site states "At least 50%* quality animal ingredients"; its Orijen pages state 85 to 90 percent for the same measure ORIJEN pet foods Europe. That is the real distinction between them, it is published by the manufacturer, and it appears on no Indian listing read for this page.
The Indian range is wide and covers both species and every life stage. Supertails alone lists 19 Acana products: Classic Prairie Poultry, Classic Wild Coast, Grass-Fed Lamb, Free-Run Duck, Light & Fit, Sports & Agility, and puppy, small-breed and large-breed lines for each life stage, plus three cat foods in Pacifica, Bountiful Catch and Indoor Entree. Pack sizes run 340 g, 2 kg, 6 kg, 9.7 kg, 11.4 kg, 14.5 kg and 17 kg on the dog side and 340 g, 1.8 kg and 4.5 kg on the cat side, and the rate per kilogram moves a long way across those pack sizes.
Made in Champion's own kitchens, declared Canadian
Acana comes from the same two company-owned kitchens as Orijen, the NorthStar kitchen at Acheson in Alberta and the DogStar kitchen at Auburn in Kentucky, and the Indian listings declare Canada.
What the Indian pack says. Supertails' Acana listing gives "Country of Origin: Canada" with "Name & Address of Manufacturer: Champion Petfoods LP, 301, 1103 95 Street SW, Edmonton, AB T6CX 0P8, Canada". Heads Up For Tails and Zigly both independently declare Canada Zigly, Acana Grass-Fed Lamb Grain Free Dry…. Champion owns and runs both plants rather than contracting manufacture out, which separates it from most of this research.
The same invalid postal code appears on Acana as on Orijen. "AB T6CX 0P8" is not a valid Canadian format, which alternates letter, digit, letter, digit, letter, digit; the plausible intended value is T6X 0P8. Finding the identical error on both brands at the same seller shows it is one transcription propagated across a catalogue rather than a one-off typo, and it is a seller's text rather than anything the manufacturer printed.
| Seller | Country of Origin | Manufacturer named | Importer named |
|---|---|---|---|
| Supertails | Canada | Champion Petfoods LP, Edmonton | GNV Commodities Private Limited, Chennai 602105 |
| Heads Up For Tails | Canada | not printed | GNV Commodities Private Limited, Chennai 602105 |
| Zigly | Canada | not printed | "Manufacturer or Importers Name: GNV Commodities Pvt Ltd" |
| Petsworld | "CA", a code rather than a country name | not printed | GNV Commodities Pvt Ltd, no address |
| DogKart, which IS the importer | not printed | not printed | not printed |
Read the last row against the Zigly row above it. Every seller that is not the importer names the importer. The shop that actually is the importer publishes no statutory block on its Acana pages at all: no country of origin, no manufacturer, no importer. A buyer who shops at the importer's own storefront gets less label information than a buyer who shops anywhere else, which is the opposite of what anyone would expect.
Zigly declares Canada on Acana, having declared nothing on Orijen. The same seller's Orijen pages carry no country of origin at all, while its Acana page gives "Country of Origin: Canada". The two catalogues contradict each other on whether this seller declares origin, which makes the Orijen omission a gap rather than a policy, and a fixable one.
And the kitchen itself stays unnamed. Every Indian listing that names anything names Champion's Edmonton corporate address, not the plant that filled the bag, so which of the two kitchens an Indian buyer's food came from is unnamed on every page read.
The same unacknowledged importer as Orijen
GNV Commodities Private Limited is named as both importer and marketer on the Acana listings exactly as on the Orijen listings, and neither Champion nor Mars names it anywhere found.
The same company, the same address, on the same four sellers. Supertails prints "Imported by" and "Marketed by" both as "GNV Commodities Private Limited, 310, Kuthambakkam Road Mevalur Kuppam Sriperumbudur Chennai Tamil Nadu (IN) 602105 India" on its Acana pages; Heads Up For Tails gives the same under "Imported & Marketed by"; Zigly and Petsworld name the company without a full address Heads Up For Tails Zigly, Acana Grass-Fed Lamb Grain Free Dry… Petsworld, the shop's own Shopify product….
Who that is. GNV Commodities Private Limited, CIN U67190DL2013PTC259674, incorporated 28 October 2013, Active, Registrar of Companies Delhi, registered office at Chittaranjan Park in New Delhi, authorised and paid-up capital Rs 100,000 each, registry activity code 6719 for activities auxiliary to financial intermediation, last balance sheet recorded as filed 31 March 2023. Each of those has an ordinary explanation, which the Orijen page sets out in full: an activity code is set at incorporation and often never updated, one lakh of paid-up capital is conventional and says nothing about turnover, and a company-data mirror can lag the registry.
It also runs DogKart, the fifth seller in the price table below. DogKart's own About page carries a gnvcommodities contact address, which is what establishes the link rather than a third-party inference. So on Acana as on Orijen, one of the shops a buyer compares is operated by the company named as importer on the other four's listings.
The question that matters is still open on both brands. Whether GNV Commodities is an authorised Champion or Mars importer, or a parallel importer, is not established. Champion publishes no India distributor page and its site-wide "Distributors Contact" link returns HTTP 404. Four mainstream retailers stocking the product does not establish authorisation, and a manufacturer's silence does not establish its absence. It decides whether a buyer with a complaint reaches an accountable chain, so it is worth asking the seller before a large order rather than after.
At least 50 percent, measured before cooking
Champion states Acana at "At least 50%*" quality animal ingredients, where Orijen is 85 to 90 percent, and the asterisk says the figure is approximate and taken from the ingredients' unprocessed state.
The claim, quoted exactly from Champion's own Acana site. "At least 50%* quality animal ingredients", with the footnote "*Approximate and derived from the unprocessed state of the ingredients. We also add vitamins, minerals, natural preservatives and flavours.". Champion's Orijen pages state 85 to 90 percent for the same measure with the same asterisk.
| Acana | Orijen | |
|---|---|---|
| Animal ingredients, stated by Champion | At least 50%* | 85 to 90%* |
| What the asterisk says | approximate, from the unprocessed state, and vitamins, minerals, preservatives and flavours are also added | approximate, and derived from the unprocessed state of the ingredients |
| Cheapest verified rate per kg in India | Rs 703.38, Classic Prairie Poultry 14.5 kg | Rs 849.94, Original 17 kg |
| Made by | Champion Petfoods, its own kitchens | Champion Petfoods, its own kitchens |
| Indian importer and marketer | GNV Commodities Private Limited | GNV Commodities Private Limited |
Both figures are weighed before the food is cooked, which is what "derived from the unprocessed state of the ingredients" means. Fresh meat is roughly two-thirds water and dry kibble is not, so neither 50 nor 85 percent describes the bag a buyer opens. This is a legitimate and widely used way to state a recipe. It is simply not what most readers will take the number to mean, and no Indian listing read for this page carries either the figure or the footnote.
So the honest way to put the difference. Acana is Champion's lower-inclusion, lower-priced line and Orijen its higher one, on the manufacturer's own numbers, and the cheapest verified Indian rates move in the same direction: Rs 703.38 per kilogram for Acana Classic Prairie Poultry against Rs 849.94 for Orijen Original, a gap of 17.2 percent. Whether the extra inclusion is worth the extra money depends on your dog, and this directory publishes no verdict on that.
One term worth reading closely, because it is in a product name. Acana sells Free-Run Duck in India, listed by Supertails as "Acana Free Run Duck Dog Dry Food" and by Zigly as "Acana Singles Grain-Free Free-Run Duck". Champion defines the term in a footnote on its Orijen UK page: "Our free-run chickens and turkeys are not housed in cages and are able to move in a barn without outdoor access".
That definition is a candid one, because the natural reading of free-run is a bird that goes outside and the footnote says it does not. The gap is where it sits. It appears on Champion's Orijen pages; it does not appear on Champion's own Acana pages, which rendered fully and carry the brand's other claims, and it does not appear on any Indian Acana listing, where "Free-Run" is part of the product's name. So the brand whose product is actually called Free-Run Duck is the one that does not define the term.
The same 14.5 kg bag costs Rs 10,199 or Rs 13,499
Five Indian sellers price Acana Classic Prairie Poultry 14.5 kg between Rs 10,199 and Rs 13,499, a spread of 32.4 percent, which is wider than Orijen's.
The five, cheapest first. Petsworld Rs 10,199, Zigly Rs 12,520, then Supertails, Heads Up For Tails and DogKart all at Rs 13,499 Zigly, the shop's own Shopify product data… Supertails, the shop's own Shopify product… Heads Up For Tails DogKart, the shop's own Shopify product…. That is Rs 703.38 to Rs 930.97 per kilogram, a difference of Rs 3,300 on one bag. As on Orijen, the three dearest are identical to the rupee and one of them is the importer's own shop.
| Seller | Price | Reference price shown | Per kg | Against the cheapest |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Petsworld | Rs 10,199 | Rs 11,999 | Rs 703.38 | cheapest |
| Zigly, out of stock when read | Rs 12,520 | Rs 11,999, which is BELOW the price | Rs 863.45 | 22.8 percent more |
| Supertails | Rs 13,499 | Rs 13,499, so no discount | Rs 930.97 | 32.4 percent more |
| Heads Up For Tails | Rs 13,499 | none shown | Rs 930.97 | 32.4 percent more |
| DogKart, operated by the importer | Rs 13,499 | none shown | Rs 930.97 | 32.4 percent more |
One seller's reference prices are not stale, they are generated wrongly, and the pattern is diagnosable. On Petsworld's Acana Puppy listing the 340 g pack costs Rs 599 and shows Rs 599 as its reference; the 2 kg costs Rs 2,699 and shows Rs 599; the 6 kg costs Rs 5,999 and shows Rs 599; the 11.4 kg costs Rs 10,499 and shows Rs 599. The first variant's price has been copied into every variant's reference field. The identical signature appears on its Light & Fit, Puppy Small Breed and Large Breed Adult listings. On the 11.4 kg puppy bag that makes the displayed reference 17.5 times below the selling price, so every discount badge computed from it is meaningless.
A second seller has two pack sizes at one price. Zigly lists Acana Classic Prairie Poultry at Rs 12,520 for the 14.5 kg and Rs 12,520 for the 17 kg, which works out at Rs 863.45 and Rs 736.47 per kilogram for the same money, and shows a reference price of Rs 11,999 on both, below what it is charging. Both were out of stock when read. The same seller's 6 kg Prairie Poultry at Rs 4,999 is Rs 833.17 per kilogram, cheaper per kilogram than its own 9.7 kg at Rs 839.90, so its ladder is inverted as well.
Ignore the badges and compare the rate. Across this brand the displayed reference price is wrong often enough that it carries no information: one seller copies the first variant's price into every row, another shows references below its own prices, two show none at all, and the one that does show a coherent reference sets it equal to its price so the discount is zero. The only figure that survives all of that is the price per kilogram, which is why it is the last column of every table here.
The cat range spreads nearly as wide. Acana Pacifica cat food in 1.8 kg runs Rs 2,804 at Petsworld, Rs 3,199 at Heads Up For Tails, Rs 3,393 at Zigly and Rs 3,499 at Supertails and DogKart, which is Rs 1,557.78 to Rs 1,943.89 per kilogram, a spread of 24.8 percent Heads Up For Tails. Cat food costs considerably more per kilogram than dog food across this brand, which is normal for the category rather than anything particular to Acana.
Every rupee figure here was divided by 84.38, 74 and 66.67 to test whether the list is a converted dollar list rather than a rupee one. No quotient lands near a whole number in a way the neighbouring prices share, which is what a rupee-native list looks like. The prices are also built from round rupee endings, Rs 2,999, Rs 6,999, Rs 13,499, which is itself the clearest sign the list is set in rupees.
Against the rest of this directory. The cheapest verified Acana is Rs 703.38 per kilogram. Kennel Kitchen's kibble, the cheapest dry dog food in this research, is Rs 179.67 per kilogram, so Acana costs 3.9 times as much. Both are dry food, so the comparison holds in a way that comparing either with a wet pouch does not.
No recall, and the highest adverse-event count FDA named
No Acana entry appears on the US FDA animal and veterinary recall register, and Acana was named in 67 reports in FDA's dilated cardiomyopathy investigation, more than any other brand FDA listed.
The register, searched today with a control that fires. The US FDA Animal and Veterinary recalls listing returns no rows for acana and none for champion petfoods. The identical query on the same day returns "Showing 1 to 2 of 2 entries" for pedigree, both rows naming Mars Petcare US, Inc.. Pedigree and Acana have shared an owner since February 2023, so the register demonstrably indexes this brand's own corporate parent and simply holds no Acana entry.
What bounds that nil. The FDA listing holds 63 entries and sends older material to a separate archive, with the oldest row surfaced by the control dated May 2024, so it is a United States window rather than a history of the brand. It is also a United States register, while the Indian product is imported from Canada by a third party. The Australian and European registers were not readable, which is recorded in what is not established.
The figure this brand is actually known for. Acana was named in 67 reports in FDA's investigation into a possible link between certain diets and canine dilated cardiomyopathy, across 524 reports received between January 2014 and April 2019. That is the highest count of any brand in FDA's own list, ahead of Zignature at 64 and Taste of the Wild at 53, and well ahead of sibling brand Orijen at 12.
That number must be read with FDA's own words beside it, and this page will not print one without the other. FDA's closing statement of 23 December 2022 says: "While adverse event numbers can be a potential signal of an issue with an FDA regulated product, by themselves, they do not supply sufficient data to establish a causal relationship with reported product(s)." An adverse-event report is a report, not a finding, and report volume tracks how widely a brand is sold and how much publicity an issue receives as much as it tracks incidence. FDA has published no further update and has not concluded that these diets cause the condition. Champion has published its own response, and the honest summary is that this is the largest open question about the brand rather than a finding against it.
Why it is still published. Omitting FDA's highest named count because it is unflattering would breach the same rule that forbids omitting a recall, and a reader who meets the figure elsewhere without FDA's caveat is worse served than one who meets both here. If your dog is on a grain-free high-legume diet and you are concerned, that is a conversation with your vet, who can examine the dog.
The lawsuits, and one product on an Indian shelf. Class actions from 2018 alleging heavy metals and BPA in Acana and Orijen were dismissed by the courts. Separately, two advocacy groups sued in 2020 over advertising, and those resolved with Champion agreeing to clarify its free-run claims and its trout sourcing on packaging and digital advertising Petful, Orijen Lawsuit / Acana Lawsuit. Among the products listed in connection with that second wave was Acana Bountiful Catch cat food, which is on sale in India today at Supertails, Heads Up For Tails and DogKart.
Be precise about what that last point does and does not mean. The 2020 suits were about advertising claims, not safety, they were brought by advocacy groups rather than regulators, and they were resolved by Champion changing how it describes the products rather than by any finding that the food was unsafe. A dismissed or settled advertising claim is not a safety finding. It is recorded because a reader searching this brand will meet the litigation, and because the specific product is one an Indian buyer can put in a basket this afternoon.
What Indian law requires of an imported pet food
Acana enters India under an animal-health import regime run by the agriculture ministry rather than the food regulator, and that regime asks more of it than Indian law asks of a pet food made in India.
Pet food is not legally food in India. The Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006 defines food for human consumption and excludes animal feed, so the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India sets no compulsory nutritional standard for dog or cat food.
The Indian standard is voluntary and this brand does not cite it. IS 11968:2019 is the Bureau of Indian Standards specification for extruded pet food and conformity is not compulsory. No BIS, ISI or IS 11968 reference was found on Champion's sites or on any Indian Acana listing read here. Heads Up For Tails' Acana page does reference AAFCO, the American association, which is the same pattern seen on Carniwel and Felix: an American benchmark cited because India sets no mandatory one.
The import regime applies and has real requirements. The Animal Quarantine and Certification Service publishes India's import procedures and names the Pet Food Products of Animal Origin (Import into India) Order, with a Sanitary Import Permit required for high-risk products and pet foods listed as item 6, plus an official health certificate from the country of origin. A United States government guide for exporters sets out the substance: a permit held by the Indian importer, heat treatment to at least 70 degrees Celsius for at least 30 minutes or an approved equivalent, exclusion of ruminant material beyond milk and certain rendered fats, and inspection of the production facility.
The counter-intuitive result is worth stating. An imported bag faces a permit, a heat-treatment specification, ingredient exclusions and a plant inspection; a pet food manufactured in India faces no compulsory product standard at all. The imported regime is the stricter of the two. It is an animal-health regime rather than a nutrition one, so none of it speaks to whether the food is nutritionally adequate, and none of it is visible to a buyer on any listing.
No FSSAI licence number appears anywhere. Not on Champion's sites and not on any Indian Acana listing read here. An importer and marketer of pet food in India would be expected to hold a licence, and nothing found suggests otherwise, so this is a disclosure gap rather than a compliance finding. Across every brand in this research the only licence number found on a pack belongs to Henlo.
What we could not establish
The 12 questions below are the ones this page could not answer, and they are published rather than left out. Each one names what was looked for, where, why it could not be settled, and the test that would show it if the answer were there.
Whether GNV Commodities is an authorised Champion or Mars importer
A Champion or Mars statement naming an Indian distributor, or an importer agreement
Looked in: Champion's Contact page, whose site-wide "Distributors Contact" link returns HTTP 404, Champion's About and FAQ pages and the Acana market sites, none of which names an Indian distributor, the company's own LinkedIn description, which is its account of itself rather than the manufacturer's
Why it could not be settled: This is the central open question on both Champion brands and must not be answered by inference in either direction. Four mainstream retailers stocking the product does not establish authorisation, and a manufacturer's silence does not establish its absence. It decides whether a buyer with a complaint reaches an accountable chain.
What would show otherwise: A Champion or Mars page naming its Indian distributor would settle this question immediately.
What the 67 dilated cardiomyopathy reports naming Acana actually mean
A causal finding, or an update from FDA since its 2022 closing statement
Looked in: FDA's own investigation page, which gives the count and states that adverse event numbers by themselves do not establish a causal relationship, FDA's closing statement of 23 December 2022, saying it does not intend further public updates until there is meaningful new scientific information, Champion's own published response
Why it could not be settled: Sixty-seven is the highest count FDA named and it is a real published number about a brand sold in India, so it cannot be omitted. It is also a count of reports rather than of confirmed cases, and FDA has expressly declined to draw a causal conclusion from it. Both halves are published and neither is resolvable from anything available.
What would show otherwise: A peer-reviewed study or an FDA update addressing causation would resolve it.
Whether the Indian bags match the recipe percentages Champion publishes abroad
A guaranteed analysis or ingredient panel on an Indian Acana pack or listing
Looked in: Champion's Acana site, which states "At least 50%*" with its footnote, the Indian listings, none of which carries the figure, the footnote or a panel
Why it could not be settled: Champion makes Acana in two countries and the published figure comes from a market site rather than from an Indian pack. Treating a foreign market's panel as the Indian bag's composition is exactly the error this directory warns about elsewhere, so the figures are cited to show the disclosure that exists abroad and is missing here.
What would show otherwise: The panel printed on an Indian bag, or an Indian listing reproducing it, would establish it.
Why Champion defines free-run on its Orijen pages but not on its Acana pages
A free-run definition on an Acana page, where the term is in a product name
Looked in: Champion's Acana UK and United States sites, which rendered fully, carry the brand's other claims and contain no cage or outdoor-access footnote, Champion's Orijen UK page, which defines the birds as not housed in cages and able to move in a barn without outdoor access, the Indian Acana listings, which use Free-Run in the product name with no definition
Why it could not be settled: The definition exists and is candid, and the brand whose product is actually named Free-Run Duck is the one that does not carry it. Whether that is an oversight, a market difference or a deliberate choice is not established, and this page does not guess.
What would show otherwise: A free-run footnote on an Acana product page would close it.
Which of Champion's two kitchens makes the Acana sold in India
A plant identification on the pack, or a routing statement from the company
Looked in: the Indian listings, which declare Canada and name the Edmonton corporate address rather than a plant, Champion's FAQ, which names both kitchens without saying which serves which market
Why it could not be settled: Canada on the label points to the Alberta kitchen and that is the obvious reading, but the listings name a corporate address rather than a plant, and the company publishes no market-to-kitchen routing. The obvious reading is not published as a fact.
What would show otherwise: A plant code on a pack, or a company statement routing markets to kitchens, would close it.
Why the importer's own storefront publishes no statutory block
Country of origin, manufacturer or importer on DogKart's Acana pages
Looked in: DogKart's Acana product data and pages, which carry marketing copy mentioning Canada and no statutory fields, the four other sellers, every one of which names the importer
Why it could not be settled: The shop that is operated by the importer publishes less label information than the shops it supplies, which is the opposite of what anyone would expect. Whether that is a template gap or a deliberate omission is not established.
What would show otherwise: A statutory block appearing on DogKart's product pages would close it.
Whether Acana consignments enter India under a Sanitary Import Permit
A permit number, an import licence, or a consignment health certificate
Looked in: the Animal Quarantine and Certification Service procedures page, which names the Order and the permit requirement without publishing a permit register, all five Indian sellers, none of which references an import permit
Why it could not be settled: The regime requires the Indian importer to hold a permit and an official health certificate from the country of origin for each consignment. Whether these consignments have them is not established, and no public register was located that would show it.
What would show otherwise: A permit number on an import document, or an entry on a published permit register, would close it.
Whether the Acheson or Auburn plants hold the Indian approvals the regime requires
An entry for either Champion kitchen on an Indian approved-establishment list
Looked in: the exporter guidance, which states that the production facility must be inspected, the Animal Quarantine and Certification Service procedures page, which publishes no plant register
Why it could not be settled: Champion publishes several real certifications for these kitchens, none of which is an Indian approval, and no Indian approved-establishment list was located or searched for this page.
What would show otherwise: The Indian department's approved-establishment list, searched for either plant, would close it.
Whether any FSSAI licence number appears on an Acana pack or listing
A licence number on the brand's sites or any Indian retail listing
Looked in: Champion's own pages and the Acana market sites, the Supertails, Heads Up For Tails, Zigly, Petsworld and DogKart Acana listings read here
Why it could not be settled: An importer and marketer of pet food in India would be expected to hold a licence, and nothing found suggests otherwise. What is established is only that none of the pages read publishes a number, so a reader cannot check it against the regulator's register.
What would show otherwise: A licence number printed on a pack, or a FoSCoS register entry for the importer, would close it.
What the Australian and European registers hold for this brand
A searchable recall register outside the United States
Looked in: the Australian product safety recall register, which this project has found returns HTTP 403 to every term including its own controls, the EU RASFF portal, which returns a JavaScript shell with no readable terms
Why it could not be settled: The product is made in Canada and sold across several markets, and the only register that answered is a United States one with no jurisdiction over the Indian consignments. A nil from an unreadable register would be evidence about the instrument rather than about the brand.
What would show otherwise: The Australian or RASFF register answering a control term would make a search meaningful.
Why one seller shows two pack sizes at one price with a reference below both
A correction, or an explanation of the Rs 12,520 figure
Looked in: Zigly's Acana Classic Prairie Poultry listing, which prices the 14.5 kg and the 17 kg identically at Rs 12,520 and shows Rs 11,999 as the reference for both, the same seller's 6 kg at Rs 4,999, which is cheaper per kilogram than its own 9.7 kg at Rs 8,147
Why it could not be settled: A reference price below the selling price cannot describe a discount, two pack sizes at one price cannot both be right, and a ladder where the smaller bag is cheaper per kilogram is inverted. Both variants were out of stock when read. Whether these are data faults or placeholders is not established, and the Rs 12,520 figure is published only as a defect.
What would show otherwise: The listings read again once in stock, or a statement from the seller, would resolve it.
Which maximum retail price is the real one for any Acana pack
The MRP printed on the pack
Looked in: Petsworld, which copies the first variant's price into every variant's reference field, Zigly, which shows references below its own prices on two variants, Supertails, which sets the reference equal to the price so the discount is zero, Heads Up For Tails and DogKart, which show no reference at all on most variants
Why it could not be settled: Four sellers produce four different kinds of unusable reference price on one brand, so no displayed maximum retail price on this brand can be relied on and no discount percentage computed from one is meaningful. This page quotes no discount percentage anywhere.
What would show otherwise: A photograph of the printed MRP on a current pack would settle it.
Common questions
Who owns Acana?
Mars, Incorporated. Mars Petcare completed its acquisition of Champion Petfoods, which makes both Acana and Orijen, on 28 February 2023, and said Champion would operate as an independent business unit within Mars Pet Nutrition. Champion's own About page names no owner, though its press releases describe the company as part of the Mars Petcare business.
What is the difference between Acana and Orijen?
Mostly the meat inclusion and the price. Champion states Acana at "at least 50%" animal ingredients and Orijen at 85 to 90 percent, both approximate and both weighed before the food is cooked. Both are made in the same two Champion kitchens in Alberta and Kentucky, both are owned by Mars, and both reach India through the same importer. The cheapest verified Acana is Rs 703.38 per kilogram against Rs 849.94 for Orijen.
Where is Acana dog food made?
Champion Petfoods makes Acana in its own kitchens rather than contracting it out: the NorthStar kitchen at Acheson in Alberta, opened December 2019, and the DogStar kitchen at Auburn in Kentucky. Indian listings declare Canada as the country of origin. Which of the two kitchens supplies India is not stated by the company or on the pack.
Has Acana ever been recalled?
No Acana entry appears on the US FDA animal and veterinary recall register, where the same query returns two Pedigree rows, so the register works and holds nothing for this brand. Two limits: it is a United States window going back to May 2024 rather than a full history, and the Indian product is imported from Canada. Separately, Acana was named in 67 adverse-event reports in FDA's dilated cardiomyopathy investigation, which are reports rather than recalls.
Is Acana linked to heart disease in dogs?
FDA named Acana in 67 reports in its investigation into a possible link between certain diets and canine dilated cardiomyopathy, the highest count of any brand it listed. FDA also stated plainly that adverse event numbers "by themselves, they do not supply sufficient data to establish a causal relationship with reported product(s)", and it has published no finding of causation. If your dog is on a grain-free diet and you are worried, talk to your vet, who can examine the dog.
Is Acana a good dog food?
This directory publishes no verdict between brands, because that depends on your dog. What it can give you is the checkable part: Champion makes it in its own kitchens rather than contracting it out, states it at "at least 50%" animal ingredients measured before cooking, holds no entry on the US FDA animal and veterinary recall register where the same query returns two Pedigree rows, and holds the highest adverse-event count FDA named in its dilated cardiomyopathy investigation, which FDA says does not establish causation. Ask your vet about your own dog.
Why is Acana so expensive?
It is imported from Canada, so it carries freight, duty and an importer's margin on top of a high-meat recipe. The Indian retail spread then does the rest: the same 14.5 kg bag runs Rs 10,199 to Rs 13,499 depending on the shop, a difference of 32.4 percent, and the three dearest sellers charge an identical figure that one of them, the importer's own storefront, sets. Acana is the cheaper of Champion's two brands; Orijen costs more again.
Who imports Acana into India?
GNV Commodities Private Limited, CIN U67190DL2013PTC259674, the same company named on the Orijen listings. It is printed as both importer and marketer, which makes it the party answerable to an Indian buyer, and it also operates the DogKart storefront. Neither Champion nor Mars names it anywhere found, and whether it is an authorised importer is not established.
Where is the cheapest place to buy Acana in India?
Petsworld was cheapest of the five sellers read, at Rs 10,199 for a 14.5 kg bag of Classic Prairie Poultry against Rs 13,499 at three others, a gap of Rs 3,300. Ignore the discount badges on this brand entirely: one seller copies its first variant's price into every variant's reference field, another shows references below its own prices, and two show none at all. Compare the price per kilogram instead.