Dog and cat health guide

Is a home-cooked bowl complete? What actually checks it, and what a blood test misses

An eight-year-old dog whose jaw could be crushed with finger pressure had a blood calcium inside the reference range. Its parathyroid hormone was above 210 pmol/L. This page is about the gap between those two numbers.

A steel bowl of home-cooked dog food on an Indian kitchen floor beside a kitchen scale

Quick answer

Is homemade dog food balanced? Almost never by accident, and no routine blood test tells you. In the Dog Aging Project, 6 percent of 1,726 home-prepared diets were potentially complete against the AAFCO adult profile. A dog can carry a normal blood calcium while its parathyroid hormone runs above 210 pmol/L and its jaw softens. The only honest checks are a nutrient calculation against AAFCO or FEDIAF, a laboratory analysis of the cooked food, or a diet formulated for your animal by a board-certified veterinary nutritionist.

Health information notice

This guide is general information for Indian pet owners and is not a diagnosis. Always consult a registered veterinarian near you before acting on anything you read here, and treat any sudden change in your pet's condition as urgent.

Find a registered veterinarian near you

6 percent of 1,726Home-prepared diets potentially complete against the AAFCO adult dog profile, Dog Aging ProjectSource: O'Brien JS, Lawson E
0 of 114Home-prepared cat recipes meeting every NRC recommended allowanceSource: Wilson SA, Villaverde C
89.7 percentCholine below the recommended allowance in those cat recipesagainst iron 76.6 and thiamine 62.8Source: Wilson SA, Villaverde C
1.27Serum ionised calcium in an 8-year-old dog with rubber jawmmol/L, inside a reference range of 1.25 to 1.45Source: Verbrugghe A, Paepe D, Verhaert L
210Parathyroid hormone in the same dog, same blood drawabove pmol/L, against a reference of 3.0 to 17.0Source: Verbrugghe A, Paepe D, Verhaert L
0.07 gCalcium in that dog's home dietper 100 g dry matter against an NRC allowance of 0.4, with a calcium to phosphorus ratio of 1:2.8Source: Verbrugghe A, Paepe D, Verhaert L
4 of 4Puppies with a normal blood calcium in a 2024 case series of suspected nutritional secondary hyperparathyroidismSource: Nowak L and colleagues
2Outcome in that seriesof 4 euthanised after pathological fractures, 2 of 4 recovered on a balanced commercial dietSource: Nowak L and colleagues
15 mgCalcium against phosphorus in cooked chicken breastagainst 228 mg per 100 gSource: United States Department of Agriculture
about 870 gCurd needed to supply one 15 kg dog's daily calcium on its ownroughly 8 katorisSource: United States Department of Agriculture
167.98 to 185.66 mgCalcium in buffalo milk against cow milkper 100 mL against 111.99 to 129.67Source: Buffalo milk: nutritional composition
10Indian home-cooked dog bowls analysed in a laboratory that held less than 0.5 percent calcium on a dry matter basisof 14, against an AAFCO adult minimum of 0.5 percentSource: Singh O, Singh U, Sethi APS
about 80 percentIndian pet dogs reared on homemade diets, Indian Veterinary Research Institute surveyof 494, with about 42 percent on vegetarian dietsSource: Shakhar C, Pattanaik AK
100 percentPunjabi dog owners feeding chapatti against riceand 91.9 percent fed chapatti; 34.4 percent and 27 percent fed riceSource: Singh O, Singh U, Sethi APS
42 of 100Dogs fed only home-cooked food in a Colombo veterinary practice surveySource: Seneviratne M, Subasinghe DWD and Watson…
25Puppies in that survey receiving any supplementof 31 (81 percent), calcium and phosphorus the commonest at 14Source: Seneviratne M, Subasinghe DWD and Watson…
524,Reports of canine dilated cardiomyopathy received by the FDA, 1 January 2014 to 30 April 2019of which 515 canine and 9 felineSource: United States Food and Drug Administration

How you would know whether a home-cooked bowl is balanced

To know whether a home-cooked bowl is balanced, you compare what the bowl contains against a published nutrient profile, because nothing you can see in the animal and nothing on a routine blood test answers the question for you.

Complete and balanced is a defined claim, not a compliment. Two documents define it for dogs and cats, and both are public. The first is the AAFCO Dog and Cat Food Nutrient Profiles, which set practical minimum and, for some nutrients, maximum concentrations for two life stages, growth and reproduction, and adult maintenance. The second is the FEDIAF Nutritional Guidelines, republished in September 2025, which state on their own tables that they are minimum recommended nutrient levels for commercial pet food. A packet of kibble carries a nutritional adequacy statement saying which profile it was formulated to meet, and the WSAVA tells owners to read it, because a food labelled for short-term, intermittent or complementary feeding is meant to be 10 percent or less of the diet. A bowl of rice and chicken carries no statement at all. Nobody checked it, so nobody can tell you.

That leaves three honest ways to answer the question, and one dishonest one. The table below sets out what each one measures and, more usefully, what it cannot show.

Four ways people try to answer whether a home-cooked bowl is complete O'Brien JS, Lawson E
MethodWhat it measuresWhat it cannot show
Calculation against a nutrient profile, using diet-formulation softwareWhether the recipe as written meets every minimum for that animal's energy intakeWhether the bowl you actually cook matches the recipe you were given
Laboratory analysis of the cooked foodWhat the finished food contains, as fedNothing about the next batch, if the ingredients or the quantities drift
A routine blood panel at the clinicBlood chemistry on the day of the drawWhether the diet is deficient, because serum calcium is held normal at the skeleton's expense
Watching the animalBody weight, coat and appetiteBone density, which falls silently for months before anything is visible

The first two are real answers. The Dog Aging Project took the first route at scale and the result sets the base rate. Its researchers coded free-text diet descriptions from 1,726 owners of dogs fed home-prepared food during 2023 and entered the ingredients into a formulation tool built by veterinary nutritionists. Only 6 percent of those diets were potentially nutritionally complete against the AAFCO adult dog maintenance standard, and because the survey captured ingredients without exact amounts, the authors say the true figure is probably lower. One of the study's authors, a board-certified veterinary nutritionist at Texas A&M, puts the failure mode in one line worth remembering in an Indian kitchen: nothing is considered a filler that you can leave out.

This page is about verification, not recipes

Bonbeno already publishes the recipe side of this question. Our guide to homemade dog food in India works the Indian bowl against the FEDIAF minimums using the ICMR-National Institute of Nutrition tables from Hyderabad and prints the arithmetic; homemade cat food in India does the same for cats; the dog diet chart for India and the puppy feeding chart for India handle how much goes in the bowl. Read those for what to cook. Read this one for how you would verify it afterwards, which is the question those pages leave open and which no page on the Indian first results page answers either.

A bowl that looks good is not evidence

A shiny coat, a good appetite and a steady weight are compatible with a diet that is deficient in calcium, choline, zinc, vitamin D and iodine all at once. Every one of those shortfalls is measured in milligrams and none of them is visible across a room. An animal can look excellent for a year on a bowl that is dismantling its skeleton.

Why a blood test does not answer the question

A blood test does not answer the question because the body defends the blood calcium first and the skeleton second, so an animal runs a normal serum calcium while its bones are being dismantled to keep that number normal.

The mechanism has a name and a long literature. Nutritional secondary hyperparathyroidism is the result of a persistent imbalance of the dietary calcium and phosphorus supply, where persistent deficiencies of dietary calcium or an excessive supply of phosphorus trigger increased secretion of parathyroid hormone and hyperplasia of the parathyroid glands, and persistent demineralization of bone leads to fibrous osteodystrophy. Read that sequence in the order it happens. The blood calcium is the thing being protected. The bone is what pays for it. A test that measures the protected number tells you the defence is working, not that the diet is adequate.

The clearest published demonstration is a case report from the Laboratory of Animal Nutrition at Ghent University. An 8-year-old intact male Briard was presented with weight loss, inappetence, weakness, difficulty chewing and a bilateral swelling of both jaws. The jaws felt like rubber and could have been crushed with digital pressure, and the teeth were mobile. Radiographs showed severe osteopenia with the laminae dura dentes gone, so the teeth appeared to float in soft tissue. All four parathyroid glands were enlarged on ultrasound.

Now the blood work from the same dog on the same day. Serum total calcium was 2.28 mmol/L against a reference range of 2.21 to 2.79. Serum ionised calcium was 1.27 mmol/L against a reference of 1.25 to 1.45. Both are normal. Plasma parathyroid hormone was above 210 pmol/L against a reference of 3.0 to 17.0, and serum 25-hydroxy vitamin D was 4 nmol/L against a reference of 60 to 215. The authors state the lesson plainly: nutritional history is very important for the diagnosis, whereas blood biochemical analyses are of little value in confirming this disorder, because serum calcium concentration is usually normal owing to compensatory changes.

That dog had eaten the same home-cooked bowl for years. Its daily ration was 100 g of horse meat, 120 g of pasta, 400 g of bread, 500 g of carrots, 50 g of spinach, one tomato and two teaspoons of coconut oil, with no vitamin or mineral supplement. Calculated against composition tables, the diet supplied 0.07 g of calcium and 0.20 g of phosphorus per 100 g of dry matter, against an NRC adult allowance of 0.4 and 0.3, with a calcium to phosphorus ratio of 1:2.8 and effectively no vitamin D. That is roughly one sixth of the calcium the dog needed, eaten every day for years, with a normal blood calcium throughout.

The same finding in four puppies, with a worse ending

A 2024 case series in Animals reports four large-breed puppies, aged 9 to 12 weeks, all fed exclusively a non-supplemented, boneless raw meat diet. They presented with acute pain and paresis. A 10-week-old Golden Retriever weighing 3.3 kg had non-ambulatory tetraparesis after a 10-day history. A 10-week-old Caucasian Shepherd had non-ambulatory paraparesis after 24 hours. Radiographs or CT showed reduced skeletal radiodensity in all four. Two had pathological fractures and were euthanised, one of them showing cortical bone resorption and parathyroid hypertrophy on post-mortem. The other two recovered rapidly on pain relief and a balanced commercial diet, with no extra calcium given.

One sentence in that paper is the reason this section exists. None of the puppies had abnormal blood calcium concentrations, and ionised calcium, measured in one case, was within normal values. Four puppies, two of them dead, and the routine number was normal in every one.

A third line of evidence points the same way from the other direction. The Colombo feeding survey's discussion summarises a comparison of home-prepared and commercial diets in which serum biochemistry and complete blood counts for all dogs were within normal limits, and serum parathyroid hormone levels were also within normal limits, even though the home-prepared diets had lower calcium to phosphorus ratios. We have not read that primary study and are reporting it as that review states it. Taken with the two case reports, the pattern is consistent: normal results do not clear a diet, and abnormal results arrive late.

The tests that do detect it

To detect nutritional secondary hyperparathyroidism you have to ask for tests that a routine panel does not include, and you have to bring the diet history that points at them. The five listed below are the ones both published case reports relied on.

  1. Parathyroid hormone, which was above 210 pmol/L in the Briard against a reference ceiling of 17.0 and fell back to 4.6 within four months of dietary correction.
  2. Serum 25-hydroxy vitamin D, which was 4 nmol/L against a reference floor of 60, and which dogs depend on diet for because they do not synthesise cholecalciferol adequately in skin.
  3. Ionised calcium rather than total calcium, which is more informative and was still normal in both reports, so it rules things out rather than in Verbrugghe A, Paepe D, Verhaert L.
  4. Radiographs, or CT where it is available, which showed generalised osteopenia in all four puppies and in the adult, and which is where bone density becomes visible Verbrugghe A, Paepe D, Verhaert L.
  5. The diet history itself, written down by weight and by brand, which both papers name as the single most useful piece of information the owner brings.
Take the recipe to the appointment, written down

If your animal eats home-cooked food, write the daily ration by weight before the consultation: grams of meat, grams of rice or roti, grams of curd, the oil, and the exact name and dose of anything you add. A vet cannot screen a diet described as 'rice and chicken'. Both published case reports reached the diagnosis through the diet history, not through the blood work, and in one of them the owner's later change to the recipe undid the recovery.

What Indian studies have actually measured

Indian animal-nutrition departments have measured this three times, covering 494 dogs with 251 blood samples at one institute and 270 dog owners with 14 chemically analysed bowls in Punjab, and all three reached the same conclusion about calcium.

The largest is from the Clinical and Pet Nutrition Laboratory at the Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar. Shakhar, Pattanaik, Kore and Sharma surveyed 494 pet dogs and collected 251 blood samples, recording the diet through a questionnaire at the time of each draw. About 80 percent of the dogs were reared on homemade diets and about 42 percent received vegetarian diets. Commercial pet food was used mainly to supplement the basal homemade diet and was limited to 17.2 percent of dogs. The authors record that milk was an indispensable part of all the dietary combinations, that the metabolic profile of the surveyed population revealed wider prevalence of calcium and phosphorus malnutrition, and that 30.3 percent of plasma samples showed higher cholesterol and 45.4 percent lower blood urea nitrogen than the normal physiological ranges. Their overall conclusion is that homemade diets constitute the mainstay of feeding pet dogs in India, but these diets seem to be nutritionally inadequate or imbalanced, especially with respect to protein, energy and minerals, especially calcium and phosphorus.

Hold that result against the previous section rather than reading past it, because the two look contradictory and are not. Across 251 samples a metabolic profile picks up a population-level prevalence of calcium and phosphorus malnutrition. In one animal, serum calcium is the number the body defends, and it stayed normal in a dog with a jaw that could be crushed and in four puppies with osteopenia Nowak L and colleagues. A prevalence across hundreds of dogs and a diagnosis in your dog are different questions, and this page could read only the Shakhar abstract, which does not say which analytes flagged the malnutrition.

Fourteen Indian bowls, dried and sent to a laboratory

The second study did what nobody else has done, which is take the actual food out of Indian kitchens and analyse it. Singh and colleagues at the Department of Animal Nutrition, Guru Angad Dev Veterinary and Animal Sciences University, Ludhiana, surveyed 138 dog owners across the Fatehgarh Sahib and Ludhiana districts of Punjab, then collected 14 food samples from owners at their homes in insulated containers. Each complete diet was prepared in the proportions the owner used, dried, powdered and analysed for protein, fat, fibre, calcium and phosphorus.

The calcium result is the one to write down. In Fatehgarh Sahib, 85.7 percent of the 7 samples held less than 0.5 percent calcium; in Ludhiana, 57.2 percent of the 7 did. That is 10 of 14 Indian home-cooked dog bowls below 0.5 percent calcium, which is exactly the AAFCO adult maintenance minimum on a dry matter basis. The authors conclude that 70 percent of the Fatehgarh Sahib feed samples do not fulfil the nutritional requirements of dogs, fat excepted.

The three Indian studies, with their denominators Singh O, Singh U, Sethi APS
StudySampleWhat it measuredFinding on calcium
Shakhar, Pattanaik, Kore and Sharma, Animal Nutrition and Feed Technology, 2010, Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar494 pet dogs, 251 blood samplesFeeding practice by questionnaire plus a blood metabolic profileWider prevalence of calcium and phosphorus malnutrition; diets judged inadequate or imbalanced especially for minerals
Singh, Singh, Sethi, Malav and Wadhwa, The Haryana Veterinarian, 2020, GADVASU Ludhiana138 dog owners in two Punjab districts, 14 bowls chemically analysedQuantities of each food fed, plus proximate and mineral analysis of the cooked diet10 of 14 bowls below 0.5 percent calcium on a dry matter basis
Tiwari, Sethi, Singh and Mavi, Journal of Animal Research, 2020, GADVASU Ludhiana132 dog owners in two further Punjab districtsQuantities of each food fed, plus physicochemical and microbiological analysisCalcium not reported; milk fed at 340 to 728 ml a day and 3.5 to 7.2 chapattis a day

The Indian bowl is not always a rice bowl

One finding in the Punjab work should change how anyone writes about Indian pet feeding, including us. Chapatti was fed by 100 percent of the Fatehgarh Sahib owners and 91.9 percent of the Ludhiana owners. Rice was fed by only 34.4 and 27 percent. Curd was near-universal at 85.9 and 83.8 percent, milk at 81.2 and 75.7 percent, eggs at 71.9 and 62.2 percent, and meat at only 48.4 and 54.1 percent. In the neighbouring Ferozepur and Fazilka districts, dogs were offered between 3.5 and 7.2 chapattis a day and between 340 and 728 ml of milk.

The staple cereal used for feeding dogs, the authors note, was the same as the one the local population eats. That is the real rule, and it travels. The Indian bowl is wheat in Punjab and rice further south, and both are low in calcium against the phosphorus they carry, so the calcium conclusion survives the substitution while the recipe does not. A page that assumes every Indian dog eats rice is describing one part of the country.

Between 31.3 and 36.5 percent of those Punjabi owners fed a purely vegetarian diet, and the Izatnagar survey put the figure at about 42 percent nationally Shakhar C, Pattanaik AK. That is a far larger share than any Western survey reports, and it moves the question from calcium alone to protein quality and vitamin B12 as well.

What these studies did not test

Both Punjab teams cultured the food they collected and found standard plate counts and coliforms well below the prescribed limits for cooked dog food, which is reassuring about freshly made Indian home food Tiwari A, Sethi APS, Singh U and Mavi G. Neither tested a batch cooked on Sunday and kept through a humid monsoon week, which is what a formulated diet actually becomes in most households. Nutrient adequacy and food safety are separate questions, and only the first one is this page's subject.

A caveat that matters if you do not live in Punjab

Both measured Indian datasets come from one state, and the bowl they measured is a wheat bowl. In the GADVASU samples, chapatti was fed by 100 percent of owners in Fatehgarh Sahib and 91.9 percent in Ludhiana, while rice reached only 34.4 percent and 27 percent respectively. A dog in Chennai, Bengaluru or Kolkata is far more likely to be eating a rice bowl, and rice and chapatti differ in bulk, in phosphorus and in what gets added alongside them. Nobody has run the same mineral analysis on a Tamil Nadu or Karnataka kitchen.

So treat the Punjab figures as the best Indian measurement that exists rather than as a national average, and treat your own bowl as unmeasured until someone measures it. That is the honest position, and it is also the practical one: the fix below does not depend on which cereal your household cooks.

Which standard you are being measured against

Two standards define complete and balanced for dogs and cats, the AAFCO nutrient profiles and the FEDIAF Nutritional Guidelines, and they do not agree with each other on four points that change what a bowl has to contain.

Start with where they do agree, because that part is simple. For adult dogs both set the calcium floor at 0.5 g per 100 g of dry matter and the phosphorus floor at 0.4 g, and both set the calcium to phosphorus ratio between 1:1 and 2:1 European Pet Food Industry Federation. FEDIAF prints a second, slightly higher adult column of 0.58 g calcium and 0.46 g phosphorus for a dog assumed to eat less food per kilogram, because an animal eating less has to get more nutrient out of every gram. Those two columns are the same requirement expressed twice, not a disagreement.

The disagreements start at growth, and at cats. The table below puts the two documents side by side on the figures a home-cooked diet actually has to hit.

AAFCO and FEDIAF compared on calcium, phosphorus and taurine, grams per 100 g dry matter Association of American Feed Control…
FigureAAFCO Dog and Cat Food Nutrient ProfilesFEDIAF Nutritional Guidelines 2025
Adult dog calcium, minimum0.50.50 to 0.58
Adult dog phosphorus, minimum0.40.40 to 0.46
Adult dog calcium to phosphorus ratio1:1 to 2:11:1 to 2:1
Dog growth calcium, minimum1.21.00 early growth, 0.80 or 1.00 late growth by adult size
Dog growth calcium to phosphorus, maximum2:1, every life stage1.6:1 early growth; 1.8:1 or 1.6:1 late growth by adult size
Calcium ceiling for large puppies1.8, for formulas that may be fed to puppies of 70 pounds or more as mature lean adults1.60 early growth, 1.80 late growth, 1.60 for Great Danes
Adult cat calcium, minimum0.60.40 to 0.53
Cat calcium to phosphorus rationone set1:1 minimum, 1.5:1 growth maximum, 2:1 adult maximum
Cat taurine, dry food0.100.10 to 0.13
Cat taurine, wet or canned food0.200.20 to 0.27

Four places the two standards disagree

We publish these rather than averaging them, because which document a formulation service works to changes what lands in the bowl.

  1. The growth ratio. AAFCO keeps the calcium to phosphorus maximum at 2:1 for every life stage, growth included. FEDIAF tightens it to 1.6:1 for early growth and reproduction. A puppy diet at 1.9:1 is compliant under one standard and over the limit under the other.
  2. What counts as a large-breed puppy. AAFCO ties its tighter calcium ceiling to puppies weighing 70 pounds or more as mature lean adults, which is about 32 kg. FEDIAF's footnotes turn on an adult body weight of 15 kg. An Indian pet dog that matures at 22 to 30 kg, which covers most Labradors and many Indies, sits inside the stricter FEDIAF rule and outside the AAFCO one.
  3. Cats and the ratio. AAFCO's cat profiles carry no calcium to phosphorus ratio row at all and no calcium maximum. FEDIAF sets a 1:1 minimum and caps kitten growth at 1.5:1. A recipe can satisfy every AAFCO cat minimum while running a ratio FEDIAF would reject.
  4. What the textbooks print. The Merck Veterinary Manual states that the minimum and maximum ratios by AAFCO are 1:1 to 2.1:1, and separately that the optimal ratio in dogs is about 1.2 to 1.4:1. AAFCO's own tables print 2:1. We have published both and have not reconciled them; the difference is small but it is the kind of drift that makes a borderline diet pass or fail.

One more thing about these numbers is worth saying out loud, because it is the commonest misreading. A ratio is not a substitute for an amount. A bowl can sit at a perfect 1.3:1 and still be deficient, if both figures are a third of what the animal needs. A diet that comfortably exceeds the ratio floor while falling short on grams of calcium is a deficient diet with a tidy ratio. Hit the absolute calcium first, then check the ratio against the phosphorus that came with it.

Nothing here is an Indian standard

India has no national nutrient profile for dog and cat food. Both documents on this page are foreign, one American and one European, and we have not found an Indian equivalent that a formulation service could work to. That is not a reason to ignore them, since a dog's calcium requirement does not change at a border. It is a reason to say plainly that the standard being applied to an Indian bowl was written somewhere else.

What a long-term calcium shortfall does, and how fast

A long-term calcium shortfall strips mineral out of the skeleton to hold the blood calcium steady, and the speed depends on the animal, with growing puppies breaking bones in weeks and adults softening their jaws over years.

The two published presentations look nothing like each other, which is part of why the condition gets missed. In a growing animal the skeleton is being built and remodelled at speed, so a deficient diet shows up as acute pain, reluctance to move, and fractures that occur without trauma. In the 2024 series the four puppies were 9 to 12 weeks old and presented over 24 hours to 10 days, with two of them euthanised after pathological fractures, one having folding fractures of the pelvis and an abnormal curvature of the sacrum. Puppies of large breeds are more susceptible because their calcium requirement is higher, which is the same reason their diets are the least forgiving of a missing supplement.

In an adult the effects are less dramatic and mainly involve the skull. The syndrome has a name that describes it exactly, rubber jaw, and it presents as swollen and pliable upper and lower jaws with misaligned, loose or lost teeth. The Briard had been losing weight, could not chew and preferred soft food for four months before anyone connected it to the bowl. Merck adds the signs that come before any of that, which are non-specific enough to be attributed to almost anything: pain, unthriftiness, reluctance to walk, and intermittent or shifting lameness. Neurological signs including ataxia and paresis follow vertebral fractures or compression of nervous tissue by bone swelling.

The good news is real and it is also a measure of how reversible the chemistry is. In the Briard, dietary correction alone brought parathyroid hormone from above 210 pmol/L back inside the reference range at 4.6 within four months, and the dog regained 3 kg in the first month, could go for long walks and was able to chew again. In the puppy series, the two survivors improved rapidly on pain medication and a balanced commercial diet, and the authors deliberately gave no extra calcium because the animals kept improving without it.

The bad news is in the same two papers. Two of four puppies did not survive, and in the adult case the owner later removed the vitamin and mineral premix from the prescribed diet because she thought it caused diarrhoea, which put calcium, phosphorus and vitamin D back below the recommended levels. A diet plan that the household does not follow is not a diet plan. That is the part no recipe page covers.

Signs that justify asking for more than a routine panel

Reluctance to walk, shifting lameness, pain on being picked up, a limb that gives way, loose teeth, a swollen or soft jaw, difficulty chewing, or a sudden inability to stand in a puppy. Any of these in an animal on home-cooked food is a reason to bring the written diet history and to ask the vet whether radiographs, parathyroid hormone and 25-hydroxy vitamin D are worth running. Bonbeno does not recommend a drug, a dose or a supplement for any of this; those are veterinary decisions about one animal, which is why this page publishes under the medical disclaimer.

Curd, milk and the calcium arithmetic an Indian bowl runs on

Curd does not close an Indian bowl's calcium gap, because a 15 kg dog needs roughly 1 g of calcium a day and curd carries about 121 mg per 100 g, so the dog would have to eat around 870 g of it, which is about eight katoris and most of its daily calories.

Work the arithmetic rather than taking our word for it. Take an adult dog of 15 kg. FEDIAF's adult maintenance energy assumptions are 95 and 110 kcal per kilogram of metabolic body weight, and 15 to the power 0.75 is 7.62, so the dog eats roughly 724 to 838 kcal a day. AAFCO's adult maintenance minimum is 1.25 g of calcium per 1,000 kcal of metabolisable energy, which puts the dog's floor at about 0.90 to 1.05 g a day. FEDIAF's two columns both land on about 1.05 g for the same dog, which is a useful check that the two documents are describing the same animal.

Now the curd. The ICMR-National Institute of Nutrition tables carry no entry for curd, so the nearest measured figure is the USDA record for plain whole-milk yogurt, which gives 121 mg of calcium, 95 mg of phosphorus and 61 kcal per 100 g. That is American yogurt standing in for Indian dahi, and we flag it as a substitution rather than a measurement of what is in your fridge.

What it would take for curd alone to supply one 15 kg dog's daily calcium United States Department of Agriculture
StepFigureSource
Daily energy for a 15 kg adult dog724 to 838 kcalFEDIAF adult assumptions of 95 and 110 kcal per kg metabolic weight
Daily calcium floorabout 0.90 to 1.05 gAAFCO adult minimum of 1.25 g per 1,000 kcal
Calcium in curd121 mg per 100 gUSDA, plain whole-milk yogurt
Curd needed for 1.05 g of calciumabout 870 g1,050 divided by 121, times 100
Energy that much curd carriesabout 530 kcal870 g at 61 kcal per 100 g
Share of the dog's daily calories63 to 73 percent530 against 838 and against 724
What one 100 g katori actually supplies121 mg, about 12 percent of the floorThe same two figures

Read the last row twice. A katori of curd on top of the rice is not a rounding error, but it is roughly an eighth of the requirement, and the rest of the bowl is bringing phosphorus with it. Curd itself is not the problem. Its calcium to phosphorus ratio is about 1.27:1, which sits comfortably inside the 1:1 to 2:1 band both standards set Association of American Feed Control…. Curd is simply too dilute to close a gap measured in hundreds of milligrams without displacing most of the animal's food.

Does buffalo milk change the answer?

Buffalo milk carries more calcium than cow milk and it is the dominant milk in much of India, so the question is fair. A 2025 review reports buffalo milk at 167.98 to 185.66 mg of calcium per 100 mL against bovine milk at 111.99 to 129.67, with phosphorus at 95.22 to 124.72 against 78.57 to 97.64. Curd is set milk, so dahi made from buffalo milk carries calcium close to the milk it came from. Run the same sum at 176 mg per 100 g and the dog needs about 600 g instead of 870 g, which is six katoris rather than eight. Better, and still not an answer.

Adding milk instead of curd makes it worse rather than better, for a reason that has nothing to do with calcium. In the Colombo survey of 100 dog owners at a veterinary practice, 49 percent fed milk as a separate meal, rising to 74 percent of puppies against 38 percent of adults. Milk is a habit across South Asia and it is the same habit here. The calcium it delivers per 100 mL is in the same range as curd, so the volume problem is identical, and it arrives with lactose that many adult dogs digest poorly.

The last thing to say about the Indian bowl is where the phosphorus comes from. Cooked chicken breast carries 15 mg of calcium and 228 mg of phosphorus per 100 g, a ratio of about 1:15. Muscle meat is the engine of the inverted ratio, and no amount of curd stacked on top of 200 g of chicken brings an inverted bowl back to 1:1 on its own. Our page on homemade dog food in India runs the full bowl against the Indian food composition tables and arrives at the same place from the other direction.

Why more calcium is also wrong

More calcium is also wrong because a growing large-breed puppy cannot regulate how much it absorbs, so over-supplementation produces skeletal disease of its own, which is why the right amount sits between a floor and a ceiling rather than above a floor.

The controlled evidence is forty years old and still the reason the ceilings exist. A Utrecht University trial fed three groups of Great Dane puppies from weaning to 17 weeks on a diet formulated to published requirements, or the same diet with increased calcium, or with increased calcium and phosphorus together. The dogs on high calcium without a proportional rise in phosphorus became hypercalcaemic and hypophosphataemic and had severe disturbances in skeletal development, growth and mineralisation typical of rickets. When their calcium intake was normalised the rickets resolved and osteochondrotic lesions then became apparent. The dogs on high calcium and phosphorus together had retarded growth and disturbances resembling osteochondrosis that had only partly resolved ten weeks later.

AAFCO cites that body of work when it explains its own numbers. Because of concerns for excess calcium to produce detrimental effects in growing dogs of large and giant breeds, its committee lowered the maximum calcium concentration to 1.8 percent of dry matter for large-size growth formulations, while keeping 2.5 percent for adults and for small and moderate breeds. Merck puts the dose-response in one sentence: supplementation above 3 percent of dry matter causes more severe signs of osteochondrosis and decreased skeletal remodeling in young, rapidly growing large-breed dogs than diets at 1 to 3 percent, and the same signs were not reported in small-breed or slower-growing dogs fed the higher amounts. Our puppy feeding chart for India carries the full FEDIAF ceiling table and how to read a label against it, and the screening side of growth-related joint disease sits on hip dysplasia in dogs.

The problem with a teaspoon-per-pound rule

Eggshell powder is a reasonable calcium carbonate source and it is cheap, which is why Indian pages recommend it. The dosing advice attached to it is where it goes wrong. The page ranking first in India for calcium in home-cooked dog food states that one level teaspoon of finely ground eggshell powder provides approximately 2,000 mg of calcium, and that the general guideline for adult dogs on boneless homemade diets is one teaspoon per 450 grams of raw boneless meat. The credit due is real: the same page names the calcium to phosphorus inversion of muscle meat, names nutritional secondary hyperparathyroidism, and warns that over-supplementation causes developmental orthopaedic disease in growing puppies.

The dosing rule still cannot be checked against either standard, for three reasons. First, both ceilings are expressed per 100 g of dry matter or per 1,000 kcal, and neither is expressed per pound of meat, so a teaspoon-per-pound rule cannot be converted into a compliance check. Second, it is anchored to the weight of the meat rather than to the animal's energy intake, so two dogs eating the same 450 g of meat inside very different bowls get the same dose. Third, the page gives no separate rule for a growing large-breed puppy, which is the one animal for which the ceiling genuinely matters, despite naming that risk in its own text.

The page ranking second in India on the same query makes a plainer error. It lists yogurt, cheese, vegetables and then chicken and fish as calcium-rich foods for dogs, grouping chicken with salmon, trout, mackerel and sardines and stating that each portion could contain from 170 mg to 370 mg of calcium. Canned oily fish eaten whole with the bones genuinely carries calcium in that range. Boneless chicken does not: the measured figure is 15 mg per 100 g against 228 mg of phosphorus. An owner who reads that page and adds more chicken to fix a calcium problem makes the ratio worse.

One more correction belongs here because the same page names spinach as the highest-calcium vegetable at 240 mg per cup. Palak is oxalate-rich, and Merck records that consumption of large amounts of oxalate-rich plants can itself cause nutritional secondary hyperparathyroidism, because oxalates bind dietary calcium and decrease its availability. The calcium is in the leaf. Whether the animal absorbs it is a different question, and that distinction never appears on either page.

Do not add a calcium tablet to a complete food

Every figure on this page is about home-cooked bowls. If your dog eats a complete and balanced packaged food, that food already sits between the floor and the ceiling, and a calcium tablet, bone builder or growth tonic added on top pushes a large-breed puppy past the 1.8 percent dry matter limit that exists precisely to stop it. Supplement only what a vet who has seen your animal tells you to supplement, in the grams they specify.

Why a home-cooked cat is the harder problem

A home-cooked cat is the harder problem because every published recipe tested has failed, cats need nutrients that only animal tissue supplies, and the standards themselves give less guidance for cats than for dogs.

The denominator for cats is bleaker than the one for dogs. Researchers at UC Davis collected 114 home-prepared maintenance diet recipes for cats from books and online sources and compared them with the NRC recommended allowances. Only 94 gave enough detail to be analysed at all, and 93 of those 94 still required assumptions. No recipe met all the allowances. The nutrients most often below them were choline in 89.7 percent, iron in 76.6, thiamine in 62.8, zinc in 61.7, manganese and vitamin E in 57.4 each, and copper in 45.7. Eight of the 114 recipes contained potentially toxic ingredients such as garlic, onion or leeks, and 46 gave no feeding directions at all.

Taurine is the nutrient with a historical body count, and it is why a cat cannot be left to a cook's judgement. Taurine deficiency causes feline central retinal degeneration and dilated cardiomyopathy, and the 1987 Science paper that established it found low plasma taurine with echocardiographic myocardial failure in 21 cats, with oral supplementation restoring left ventricular function. Five of the 114 recipes met the allowances for everything except choline, and in two of those five the authors could not confirm taurine adequacy. Even the best recipes in the study could not be cleared on the nutrient that matters most.

Our guide to homemade cat food in India sets out the four nutrients a cat cannot make for itself and what each deficiency does, and the disease itself is covered on dilated cardiomyopathy in dogs. Two points belong here rather than there, because they are about verification rather than ingredients.

  • The standards give cats less. AAFCO's cat profiles set no calcium to phosphorus ratio and no calcium maximum at all, so there is no AAFCO figure to check a cat's ratio against. FEDIAF fills that gap with a 1:1 minimum and a 1.5:1 growth maximum, which means the answer to 'is this cat's ratio acceptable' depends on which document you open.
  • Cooked wet food needs more taurine than dry. Both standards set the taurine minimum roughly twice as high for canned food as for dry, because heat processing increases taurine loss to intestinal bacteria. A home-cooked chicken stew is a heat-processed wet food, so the higher figure is the one that applies to it, and a taurine dose calculated from the dry-food column is the wrong dose.
  • Phosphorus has a second ceiling in cats. FEDIAF records that a high intake of highly bioavailable inorganic phosphorus at or above 1.5 g per 1,000 kcal can affect indicators of kidney function in cats, and that more research is needed on different sources. That matters for any home diet built on phosphate-containing additives, and it sits alongside chronic kidney disease in cats, which is the commonest reason an Indian cat ends up on a prescription diet.
  • Rice has a taurine angle in dogs too. FEDIAF notes that feeding certain lamb and rice foods may increase the risk of low taurine status, because of lower bioavailability of sulphur-containing amino acids and increased faecal losses possibly caused by rice bran. A rice-heavy Indian bowl is not the same thing as a commercial lamb and rice food, and we are not claiming it is, but it is the one published mechanism that connects the Indian staple to taurine status in dogs.

What to do instead of guessing

To stop guessing, have the diet formulated for your animal by a board-certified veterinary nutritionist, then feed it exactly as written and have it reviewed when the animal's weight, age or health changes.

A board-certified veterinary nutritionist is a specific qualification, not a job title anyone can print. The training is four years of veterinary school, a one-year internship or equivalent, and then a two to three year residency meeting the standards of a recognised specialty college, after which the person can be called a Diplomate. Nutrition has been a board-certified veterinary specialty for more than 30 years, with nearly 100 Diplomates in the United States, and it recently became the sixth specialty of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine. The WSAVA names the two bodies in the same breath, the American College of Veterinary Nutrition and the European College of Veterinary Comparative Nutrition, when telling owners what qualification to look for.

A formulation service is what one of these specialists produces. You supply the animal's weight, age, body condition, health conditions, medications, what it will eat and what you can buy; the specialist builds a recipe with named ingredients in grams, a named supplement product with a dose, and a feeding amount in grams a day for that animal. The Dog Aging Project's own clinical recommendation is to involve a board-certified veterinary nutritionist in the selection of a maintenance diet. Bonbeno names no service, because we have tested none and verdicts without first-hand testing are not something a directory should hand out.

Questions worth asking before you pay

Six questions separate a formulation from a recipe. Ask them in writing and keep the answers.

  1. Which standard does this diet meet, the AAFCO nutrient profiles or the FEDIAF Nutritional Guidelines, and for which life stage?
  2. What is the calcium figure in grams per 1,000 kcal, and where does it sit against the floor and the ceiling for this animal's size and age?
  3. Which named supplement product supplies the micronutrients, at what dose, and what happens to the diet if I cannot buy it in India?
  4. What are the exact weights of every ingredient, raw or cooked, and which is it?
  5. What do I do when an ingredient is unavailable, and which substitutions are safe without re-running the formulation?
  6. When should this be reviewed, and what change in the animal triggers a review sooner?

The last one is the one people skip and it is the one that failed in the published case report. That owner's dog recovered, then slid back when she quietly dropped the vitamin and mineral premix and changed the proportions, which put calcium, phosphorus and vitamin D below the recommended levels again. The Texas A&M advice is blunt about why that happens: stick to the diet exactly as prescribed, because nothing in it is a filler you can leave out.

Cost is the obvious objection and it deserves a straight answer, which is that we have no verified Indian price for a formulation consult and will not invent one. What the Indian literature does record is the shape of the market around the decision. The Ludhiana group, writing in 2020, put the Indian pet industry at more than ₹2,500 crore, which is 25 billion rupees, and rising, citing a trade source, while describing most pet dog owners as resorting to unscientific feeding and management practices because of convenience. A market that size with that much guesswork in it is the reason the formulation step is worth paying for once rather than improvising weekly.

If a formulation is out of reach, the honest fallback is not a better recipe off the internet. It is a complete and balanced packaged food as the base of the diet, with home-cooked food kept to a share small enough not to unbalance it. The Colombo survey found 40 percent of dogs on a mix of both, and among those, 47 percent took up to a quarter of their intake as commercial food. A mixed bowl is a common Indian answer too, and it is a defensible one as long as you know which part of it is the part that was actually formulated.

What to do this week if your animal is on home-cooked food

Weigh the daily ration once and write it down by ingredient. Note the exact name and dose of anything you add. Photograph the label of any supplement. Take all of it to your next appointment and ask whether the diet has ever been checked against a nutrient profile. That single page of paper is worth more than any blood test on this subject, and it costs nothing.

What is not established

Several things on this subject are genuinely unresolved, and three of them get stated as settled on pages that rank for these queries, so we set out what the evidence does not support.

The Indian evidence is real but thin, and three limits on it matter. First, the Izatnagar study of 494 dogs and 251 blood samples was read here as its published abstract, not in full, so we cannot say which analytes its authors used to identify calcium and phosphorus malnutrition. Second, the 14 chemically analysed bowls come from two districts of one state, and 14 is a small number even though it is 14 more than anybody else has analysed. Third, the study that most references point back to, Rahaman and Yathiraj, Commercial versus traditional food in canine health, is a one-page abstract from 2000 that we could not read; three later peer-reviewed papers summarise it the same way, that dogs fed a homemade diet had a greater prevalence of health problems than dogs fed commercial diets, and that is the finding as those papers report it rather than as we have verified it Verbrugghe A, Paepe D, Verhaert L Singh O, Singh U, Sethi APS. The nearest comparable study we could read in full is the Colombo one, which surveyed 100 dog owners at a Sri Lankan veterinary practice and found 42 percent feeding only home-cooked food, 49 percent feeding milk as a separate meal, and 17 percent preparing the meat or fish as a curry.

Homemade feeding is not uniformly bad, and the paper ranking second in India for this query says so. A 2024 prospective study in Veterinary Sciences enrolled 167 dogs that had nutritional counselling between October 2020 and May 2022, each given a personalised plan built with a veterinary diet-balancing program and integrated with vitamin and mineral supplements. It reports that personalised and well-balanced homemade diets noticeably enhanced overall health, with an almost complete remission of symptoms in pathological dogs, and 83 percent improvement in dogs with dermatological disease. That result is not in conflict with the failure studies, because it tested formulated, supplemented diets rather than recipes copied off a page. Its authors list their own limits: no medical evaluation at the end of the study, no control group and no randomisation, which they say limits the generalisability of the findings, and they call for randomised controlled trials.

The grain-free and dilated cardiomyopathy question is unresolved, not closed in either direction. The FDA began investigating in July 2018 after reports of canine dilated cardiomyopathy in dogs eating foods, many labelled grain-free, containing a high proportion of peas, lentils, other pulses or potatoes among the main ingredients. Between 1 January 2014 and 30 April 2019 it received 524 reports, 515 canine and 9 feline. Its own position on what that proves is explicit: while adverse event numbers can be a potential signal of an issue with a regulated product, by themselves they do not supply sufficient data to establish a causal relationship, and the agency does not intend to release further public updates until there is meaningful new scientific information to share. Anyone telling you the link is proved, and anyone telling you it was debunked, is going beyond what the regulator has published.

The curd figure on this page is a substitution, not a measurement. The Indian food composition tables carry no entry for curd, so we used the USDA record for plain whole-milk yogurt, and the buffalo comparison is calculated from milk rather than from analysed dahi. The order of magnitude is what the arithmetic supports: a katori of curd supplies something like a tenth of an adult dog's daily calcium, not something like half. Treat the 870 g figure as an illustration of scale.

No animal on this page is yours. Two case reports and a handful of cohort studies establish that a mechanism exists and that it is missed by routine testing. They do not tell you whether the specific bowl in your kitchen is deficient, and this page has deliberately printed no recipe, no supplement dose and no gram of calcium to add. Our cat diet chart for India and the dog equivalent cover portions; the formulation is a veterinary judgement about one animal.

Why we published the disagreements rather than one number

On four questions in this article the two reference standards do not match, the Merck Veterinary Manual's rendering of AAFCO does not match AAFCO's own table, and the best-known positive study points the other way from the best-known negative ones. Averaging those would have produced a cleaner page and a less useful one. Where a figure depends on which document you open, that is the fact, and an owner deciding what to put in a bowl is better served knowing it.

Common questions

How do I know if my homemade dog food is balanced?

You know by comparing the diet against a published nutrient profile, either through diet-formulation software run by a board-certified veterinary nutritionist or through a laboratory analysis of the cooked food. Watching the dog does not work, and neither does a routine blood panel, because the body holds serum calcium normal by taking mineral out of the skeleton.

Is homemade dog food balanced?

Rarely, unless someone formulated it for that dog. The Dog Aging Project coded 1,726 home-prepared diets reported by owners and found only 6 percent potentially complete against the AAFCO adult maintenance standard, and the authors note the real figure is probably lower because the survey captured ingredients without exact quantities.

Will a blood test show that my dog's food is short of calcium?

No. An 8-year-old dog with jaws soft enough to crush with finger pressure had a serum ionised calcium of 1.27 mmol/L inside a reference range of 1.25 to 1.45, while its parathyroid hormone sat above 210 pmol/L against a ceiling of 17. In a separate series, none of four affected puppies had abnormal blood calcium.

Do vets recommend homemade dog food?

Veterinary bodies recommend that a home-prepared diet be formulated by a board-certified veterinary nutritionist rather than copied from a book or a website. The WSAVA tells owners to look for board certification by the American College of Veterinary Nutrition or the European College of Veterinary Comparative Nutrition, and the Dog Aging Project researchers give the same advice.

Is it healthier to make homemade dog food?

It can be, when the diet is formulated and supplemented. A 2024 prospective study of 167 dogs on personalised plans built with a diet-balancing program reported improved health and 83 percent improvement in dogs with skin disease, but its authors state that it had no control group and no randomisation, which limits how far the result generalises.

Do dogs live longer with homemade dog food?

No published study establishes that. The 2024 prospective study most often cited in support followed 167 dogs for a median 14 months, used owner-reported outcomes, and had no control group, so it cannot answer a lifespan question. No randomised controlled trial comparing lifespans on home-prepared and commercial diets has been published.

How can I add calcium to my dog's food?

Only in a quantity calculated for that dog, because the right amount sits between a floor and a ceiling. AAFCO sets the adult dog minimum at 1.25 g per 1,000 kcal and caps formulas for puppies of 70 pounds or more as adults at 1.8 percent of dry matter, so the dose depends on the animal's energy intake, size and age rather than on the weight of meat in the bowl.

Do eggshells give dogs calcium?

Yes, eggshell is largely calcium carbonate, and the commonly quoted figure is about 2,000 mg of calcium per level teaspoon of finely ground powder. The problem is the dosing rule attached to it. Advice expressed as a teaspoon per pound of meat cannot be checked against either standard, because both limits are set per 100 g of dry matter or per 1,000 kcal.

What are the best homemade sources of calcium for dogs?

Judge a source by what it delivers per calorie, not by reputation. Ground eggshell is largely calcium carbonate and supplies calcium with almost no phosphorus. Curd and milk supply calcium in a workable ratio but far too dilutely. Boneless chicken is not a calcium source at all, at 15 mg against 228 mg of phosphorus per 100 g, and oxalate-rich leaves such as palak bind the calcium they carry.

Is curd enough calcium for a dog on home-cooked food?

No. A 15 kg adult dog needs roughly 0.9 to 1.05 g of calcium a day, and curd carries about 121 mg per 100 g, so the dog would have to eat around 870 g of curd to cover it, which is about eight katoris and would supply 63 to 73 percent of its daily calories. One katori supplies roughly an eighth of the requirement.

Bonbeno is an independent pet reference for India. We do not sell pet food, products or animals. Organic rankings are earned on verified data and paid placement is always labelled.