Research report

Pet cremation in India, city by city: 19 municipal and institutional facilities and plots in 13 cities, what each charges from nothing to Rs 3,000, what it took to build them, how many animals they take, and the rules that say a local authority must have one

A pet dies in an Indian city about as often as a person does, and until 2015 no corporation had anywhere to take one. This report lists every municipal or institutional pet crematorium it could verify, 19 facilities and plots across 13 cities, with the fee each charges, what it burns, how much it cost to build, how many animals it has taken, and the document each figure is read from. It then reads the rule that obliges every local authority to have an incinerator, the central guidelines on disposing of a carcass, the Maharashtra circular that ordered every civic body to build one, and the High Court that made Mumbai finish its three.

The courtyard of a small municipal pet crematorium in an Indian city at dusk, a whitewashed building with a tall chimney, a frangipani tree in flower, a woman seen from behind sitting on a steel bench holding a folded red leash and collar, a small brass urn beside her, no faces visible

Data as of 2 November 2026 · Dataset: 19 rows, 8 columns · Download the CSV

Quick answer

Pet cremation in India is a municipal service in seven of the thirteen cities with a verified facility: free at Mumbai's Malad and in Chennai, about Rs 700 in Ahmedabad, Rs 800 in Bengaluru, Rs 2,000 in Delhi and Pune, Rs 3,000 in Jamshedpur, with strays free almost everywhere. The Animal Birth Control Rules, 2023 oblige every local authority to install an incinerator, and Maharashtra ordered every civic body to build one in April 2025. Kolkata has none.

19Municipal and institutional pet crematoria and plots this report could verify, across 13 cities, 13 of them operating crematoriaSource: Free Press Journal
Rs 0Fee for a pet dog at Mumbai's Malad crematorium and at Chennai's Kannammapet, the two free municipal facilitiesSource: DT Next, 'Chennai
Rs 3,000Fee for a pet up to 50 kg at Jamshedpur's PNG crematorium, the highest fixed municipal or institutional charge foundSource: ThePrint (PTI), 'Jamshedpur gets eastern…
120 to 180Cremations a month at Delhi's Dwarka facility in 2026, against a designed 25 a daySource: The Patriot, 'Delhi's first MCD-run pet…
400Animals cremated at Bengaluru's Sumanahalli crematorium in a month before its chimney collapsed in April 2025Source: Deccan Herald, 'Bengaluru to get two more…
Rs 17 croreWhat Mumbai's three facilities cost to build with five years of operation, against Rs 30 lakh for Ahmedabad's oneSource: Free Press Journal

The data behind this report

One row per facility or announced plot. Every field is read from the document cited for that row in the report; 'not stated' means the sources for that facility do not give the figure, and the status column is what the most recent source says, not a check made by phone. Fees are the latest reported and the report's text gives the earlier ones where they differ (Bengaluru's has been reported three ways). Private crematoria and the cemeteries run by NGOs are not rows; the one burial facility included, Kolkata's, is there because the city has no municipal crematorium at all.

Compiled from Free Press Journal, Free Press Journal, ThePrint, Heena Fatima, The Patriot, 'Delhi's first MCD-run pet…, The News Minute, 'GHMC builds pet…, Telangana Today, 'Hyderabad, DT Next, 'Chennai, CarryMyPet, 'Chennai's First Pet…, The Bridge Chronicle, Deccan Herald, 'Bengaluru to get two more…, Deccan Herald, 'High burial cost strains…, Deccan Herald, 'Sumanahalli animal…, DeshGujarat, 'Ahmedabad Gets Gujarat's…, Gujarat Samachar, '9 Months, New Town Kolkata Development Authority, ThePrint (PTI), 'Jamshedpur gets eastern…, The Tribune, 'India's 1st pet green…, ETV Bharat, 'Faridabad Launches Dedicated…, Free Press Journal, ETV Bharat, 'Karnataka's First Animal…, The Hitavada, 'City's first animal…, Nagpur Municipal Corporation.

Download the dataset (CSV, 19 rows, 8 columns)Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 with attribution to Bonbeno. Data as of 2 November 2026.

Pet cremation in India: the facilities on one page

Thirteen cities, nineteen rows, and a fee that runs from nothing to Rs 3,000 for the same service. The table below is the dataset in brief; the rest of this report takes the cities one at a time.

Where a pet can be cremated by a municipal or institutional facility in India, what it charges and when it opened, in the order the facilities opened Free Press Journal
OpenedCity and facilityOperatorFee for a pet dog
November 2015Bengaluru, SumanahalliBBMP, now the Greater Bengaluru AuthorityRs 800 (June 2025) or Rs 300 (December 2024); cats Rs 300
November 2019Pune, near Naidu HospitalPune Municipal CorporationRs 2,000; large animals Rs 3,000 (2019 rates)
February 2022Ghaziabad, Nandi ParkGhaziabad Nagar NigamRs 500 estimated
December 2022Hyderabad, FathullagudaGHMC with People for AnimalsSet by the operator, unpublished
September 2023Mumbai, MaladBrihanmumbai Municipal CorporationFree
December 2023Delhi, DwarkaMCD with the Green Revolution FoundationRs 2,000 under 30 kg, Rs 3,000 above
March 2025Jamshedpur, Jubilee ParkTata SteelRs 3,000, pets to 50 kg
October 2025Chennai, KannammapetGreater Chennai CorporationFree
January 2026Faridabad, stray dog crematoriumNGO AAPSI on municipal landNot stated
February 2026Ahmedabad, BehrampuraAhmedabad Municipal CorporationAbout Rs 700
April 2026Mumbai, Deonar and MahalaxmiBrihanmumbai Municipal CorporationNot stated
April 2026Faridabad, Budhena pet green crematoriumNGO Aapsee with the municipal corporationNot stated
By June 2026Nagpur, Rise For Tails CentreRise NGONot stated
Not openHubballi-Dharwad (two units ready), Bengaluru (two plots), Hyderabad Gopanpally, Ahmedabad (two planned), Nagpur Bhandewadi (resolved 2023)
NoneKolkata; the NKDA pet cemetery in New Town buries for Rs 2,500New Town Kolkata Development AuthorityRs 2,500 burial

Three things stand out in the table. The service is ten years old in Bengaluru and under a year old in half the cities that have it DeshGujarat, 'Ahmedabad Gets Gujarat's…; the fee has no relation to the cost of the fire, since the two free facilities and the Rs 3,000 one burn the same gas ThePrint (PTI), 'Jamshedpur gets eastern…; and the cities that have not built, which is most of India, are breaking a rule that has been in force since March 2023.

The rules: an incinerator the local authority must install, a carcass that must be burned above 850 degrees, and a state that ordered every civic body to build

There is no law on pet cremation as such. There are three documents that, read together, oblige a city to have somewhere to burn an animal.

The Animal Birth Control Rules, 2023 list, among the obligations of the local authority, 'incinerators to be installed by the local authority for disposal of organs and carcasses and where an incinerator is not feasible, deep burial method may be adopted', and rule 16(7) says 'the carcasses of dogs that are suspected to have died of rabies shall be disposed of in an incinerator or adopting any other method as provided by the Chief Veterinary Officer of the District'. The rules are about street dogs and the Animal Birth Control centres that sterilise them, so the incinerator they require is the one most municipal pet crematoria are built beside: Delhi's at the Dwarka sterilisation centre, Hyderabad's and Ahmedabad's at their animal care centres, Mumbai's Malad unit at the dog pound The News Minute, 'GHMC builds pet… DeshGujarat, 'Ahmedabad Gets Gujarat's… Free Press Journal.

The Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying's guidelines on disposal of animal carcass and disinfection, issued as K-11/15/2023-LH, define the method: 'Incineration is thermal destruction of carcass by using high-temperature (>850°C)', to be 'practiced only on-site', at a site 'at least two hundred fifty meters away from human habitat', by fixed whole-carcass, mobile air-curtain or municipal incinerators; carcasses are 'preferably incinerated, otherwise burned in pits or buried'. Ahmedabad's machine runs at 800 to 900 degrees; Faridabad's furnace is described as reaching 800.

Maharashtra's circular and Mumbai's High Court

In April 2025 the Maharashtra government directed every municipal corporation, municipal council and nagar panchayat in the state to develop cremation grounds for pets and animals, to provide the space near dumping grounds with a compound wall and security, to cremate 'cows, cats, dogs, and white mice' with proper care, to stop carcasses being dumped anywhere else, and to levy a charge if they wished, with no timeline. Two months later the Bombay High Court took suo motu cognisance of a report on Mumbai's delayed Deonar facility and on 9 July 2025 gave the corporation two weeks to file an affidavit; Deonar and Mahalaxmi were declared operational from 1 April 2026. Pune, in the same state, has had its incinerator since 2019, and Nagpur's corporation resolved on 23 May 2023 to build an animal crematorium at Bhandewadi, sanctioned at Rs 3.50 crore and revised to Rs 9.50 crore, which had not opened when an NGO's unit became the city's first in 2026.

If the animal may have died of rabies

The Animal Birth Control Rules require the carcass of a dog suspected to have died of rabies to go to an incinerator or to whatever method the district's Chief Veterinary Officer provides. Do not bury it at home and do not handle it bare-handed; call the corporation's veterinary department, and if the dog bit anyone in its last days, that person needs the vaccine the same day. Bonbeno's dog vaccination schedule covers the pet; its pet first aid guide covers the wound.

City by city: who runs each facility, what it burns, and what it charges

Thirteen operating crematoria, Kolkata's burial ground, four facilities not yet open and one whose status is unreported, read from the documents that announced, inspected or priced them.

Mumbai: three facilities, one free, two on a licence

The BMC inaugurated its first pet crematorium at the Evershine Nagar cattle and dog pound in Malad West in September 2023: a 50-kilogram-an-hour PNG incinerator, free of charge, open 10 am to 6 pm daily, for pets with an owner's address proof, under a Rs 17 crore contract for three units with five years of operation. Deonar, on PNG for animals up to 500 kilograms, and Mahalaxmi, electric for animals up to 50, were declared operational from 1 April 2026, offered as eco-friendly last rites with online booking on the Veterinary Health Department's portal and a helpline; the corporation had told the High Court in July 2025 that Mahalaxmi was already functional. The booking page's terms make the licence the key: 'in the case of pet animals (dog) a municipal licence is required', a stray needs a death certificate from a registered vet at a sterilisation centre, and a citizen bringing a stray dog, cat or small animal shows one photo ID and one address proof. Bonbeno's Mumbai report has the licence.

Delhi: Rs 2,000 or Rs 3,000 by weight, 120 to 180 a month

The MCD's Furry Friends Forever Memorial Park and Crematorium at Dwarka Sector 29 began operations in December 2023: a CNG centre of 700 square metres with furnaces rated for 200 and 150 kilograms, a designed capacity of 25 a day, 10 private pets and 15 small street animals, 'operational at a modest cost of Rs one crore' and run with the Green Revolution Foundation, which hires the priest and keeps the memory garden. The rates are 'Rs 2,000 for animals weighing under 30kg and Rs 3,000 for more', against private crematoria in the city charging Rs 5,000 to Rs 8,000; by August 2026 it was handling 'between 120 and 180 cremations a month', pets and strays together, with the strays free. Bonbeno's Delhi report sets it beside the city's one sterilisation-centre network.

Hyderabad: an NGO's incinerator in the corporation's building, at the NGO's price

The pet crematorium at the GHMC animal care centre in Fathullaguda, near Nagole, cost about Rs 1 crore, the corporation paying for the civil structure and People for Animals for the LPG incinerator, and was inaugurated on 6 December 2022; it cremates about four dogs per two-hour cycle, and People for Animals runs it under a memorandum of understanding and 'will collect user charges from people for the cremation of their pets'. No charge has been published since. A second facility of 500 square yards was approved at Gopanpally in October 2023, built by the Raga Foundation as corporate social responsibility inside a GHMC complex; whether it has opened is not reported, and since 11 February 2026 the Fathullaguda centre sits in the residual GHMC while Gopanpally is in the new Cyberabad corporation, as Bonbeno's Hyderabad report records.

Chennai: free, 8 to 5, 439 in three months

The Greater Chennai Corporation's pet crematorium at Kannammapet in T Nagar, built for Rs 50 lakh under the Singara Chennai 2.0 project, had cremated 439 pets from its opening in October 2025 to 20 January 2026; it uses 'modern dual-chambered gasifier technology', is 'designed to handle small animals such as cats and dogs', runs 'daily from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM', is 'entirely free', and returns the ashes on request. The corporation also keeps pet burial grounds at Moolakotthalam in Royapuram zone, Mylapore in Teynampet zone and Kannammapet itself. At the rate of its first three and a half months it cremates about 120 a month, which is Delhi's lower bound at no charge; Bonbeno's Chennai report has the licence that the city, unlike Mumbai, does not require for the booking.

Pune: the first civic animal crematorium in Maharashtra, at 2019 prices

The PMC's incinerator for pets and small animals near Naidu Hospital opened in November 2019 as 'the first-ever animal crematorium in the State for animals to be run by a civic body', a 2,000 square foot building with a 40 kVA generator that 'cost an estimated Rs 98 lakh', with a proposed charge of Rs 2,000 'per cremation of a domestic dog and cat', Rs 3,000 for large domestic animals, free cremation of strays, and transport of a dead pet for Rs 200. No later rate card or operating hours could be found, so the price is what the helpline quotes; Bonbeno's Pune report records the city's other end-of-life options.

Bengaluru: ten years old, 400 a month, three fee schedules and nine months shut

Sumanahalli, the BBMP's electric animal crematorium on Magadi Road in Bengaluru (Bangalore), opened to the public on 9 November 2015 after a Rs 3 crore build, with two incinerators, a fee of Rs 300 for a small animal and Rs 1,000 for a big one, and strays free. By December 2024 it cremated 'nearly 400 animals a month, at least 14 a day', at Rs 300 for a dog and Rs 600 for a larger animal, and the corporation had identified plots of about 2,000 square feet at Yelahanka and Dasarahalli for two more; by June 2025 the fee was reported as Rs 800 for a dog and Rs 300 for a cat, burial elsewhere ran upwards of Rs 2,000, and the exhaust pipe had collapsed. The chimney fell on 14 April 2025 and the facility reopened on 12 January 2026, 7 am to 5 pm; neither new plot was open by then. Bonbeno's Bengaluru report prints all three fee schedules rather than choosing.

Ahmedabad: Gujarat's first, on CNG, about Rs 700, booked against the licence

The AMC's CNG pet crematorium at the CNCD Animal Birth Control centre in Behrampura, operational from 9 February 2026, was 'set up at a cost of Rs 30 lakh', takes 'up to three dogs at a time' in a chamber of about four feet by three by three at 800 to 900 degrees, at 'about Rs 700 per dog', booked by reporting the death on the corporation's 155303 helpline with the pet's registration details. By October 2026 '600 dogs and cats have been cremated with traditional last rites in Ahmedabad over the past nine months', 547 pets and 53 strays, with requests on some days for five to seven, and two more were planned 'at a cost of around Rs 60 lakh' at Vastral and in the west near the Ring Road. Bonbeno's Ahmedabad report has the Rs 2,000 licence the booking requires.

Kolkata: nothing municipal, and a Rs 2,500 burial in New Town

No report, notice or fee schedule this report could reach records a pet crematorium run by the Kolkata Municipal Corporation. The New Town Kolkata Development Authority's pet dog cemetery at Action Area III buries a pet for Rs 2,500 against a death certificate from a recognised veterinary doctor, and Bonbeno's Kolkata report records the absence as a finding rather than filling it.

Jamshedpur, Faridabad, Ghaziabad, Hubballi-Dharwad and Nagpur

Jamshedpur's facility, 'eastern India's first' on gas, opened on 1 March 2025 near the dog kennel in Jubilee Park, funded by Tata Steel, on PNG 'one of the cheapest burning fuels', at Rs 3,000 for pets up to 50 kilograms. In Faridabad the NGO AAPSI built a stray dog crematorium on municipal land, able to take animals up to 80 kilograms, reported in January 2026, and the NGO Aapsee opened 'India's 1st pet green crematorium' at Budhena village on National Pet Day in April 2026, a furnace using 60 to 80 kilograms of wood a cycle against up to 400 on a pyre, with 42 cremations by 13 April. Ghaziabad's corporation built the city's first dog crematorium near Nandi Park by the Hindon in February 2022, with an estimated Rs 500 for pet owners and community dogs free; its current status is unreported. Hubballi-Dharwad's corporation had two units ready in October 2025 at its solid waste plants on Karwar Road and near Hosayallapur, about Rs 53 lakh each from a Finance Commission grant, each able to incinerate 80 to 100 kilograms an hour, 20 to 30 small carcasses a day, under a 30-metre chimney, awaiting inauguration. And in Nagpur, where the corporation sanctioned a Bhandewadi animal crematorium in May 2023, the city's first operating facility by June 2026 was the Rise NGO's, on electricity and LPG at its Hingna Road centre.

What it costs: free to Rs 3,000 at a municipal facility, Rs 5,000 and up privately, Rs 2,500 to bury

The cremation fee is a council's choice, not the fire's. Two cities charge nothing and two charge Rs 2,000 for the same gas.

Fee for cremating a pet dog at each municipal or institutional facility, latest reported rate01,0002,0003,000005007008002,0002,0003,000Mumbai, MaladChennai, KannammapetGhaziabad (2022 estimate)Ahmedabad, BehrampuraBengaluru, Sumanahalli (June 2025)Delhi, Dwarka (under 30 kg)Pune (2019 rate)Jamshedpur (to 50 kg)
Fee for cremating a pet dog at each municipal or institutional facility, latest reported rate. Delhi charges Rs 3,000 above 30 kg and Pune Rs 3,000 for a large animal. Hyderabad's charge is set by the operator and unpublished; Mumbai's Deonar and Mahalaxmi, Faridabad's two and Nagpur's NGO unit state none. Strays are free at every facility that says. ThePrint, Heena Fatima

A pet dog costs nothing to cremate at Mumbai's Malad facility or Chennai's, about Rs 700 at Ahmedabad's, Rs 800 at Bengaluru's by the latest report, Rs 2,000 at Delhi's and Pune's, and Rs 3,000 at Jamshedpur's CarryMyPet, 'Chennai's First Pet… DeshGujarat, 'Ahmedabad Gets Gujarat's… Deccan Herald, 'High burial cost strains… ThePrint, Heena Fatima The Bridge Chronicle ThePrint (PTI), 'Jamshedpur gets eastern…. Weight sets the band where there is one: Delhi's Rs 3,000 above 30 kilograms, Pune's Rs 3,000 for a large animal, Jamshedpur's ceiling at 50 The Bridge Chronicle ThePrint (PTI), 'Jamshedpur gets eastern…. Every facility that states a rate for strays cremates them free Free Press Journal Citizen Matters, Akshatha M.

Bengaluru's Sumanahalli fee for a dog as reported over ten years, and the second rate reported beside it02004006008001,0003003008001,000600300January 2016: dog Rs 300, big animal Rs 1,000December 2024: dog Rs 300, larger animal Rs 600June 2025: dog Rs 800, cat Rs 300Dog (Rs)The other rate reported (Rs)
Bengaluru's Sumanahalli fee for a dog as reported over ten years, and the second rate reported beside it. Citizen Matters, January 2016; Deccan Herald, 19 December 2024 and 20 June 2025. The second series is a big animal in 2016 and 2024 and a cat in 2025. No fee schedule has been published since the January 2026 reopening. Deccan Herald, 'High burial cost strains…

Private cremation is the comparison. Delhi's private crematoria charge Rs 5,000 to Rs 8,000; Bengaluru's private services Rs 5,000 and more, with burial upwards of Rs 2,000, and in 2016 the People for Animals cemetery at Kengeri charged Rs 4,500 for a regular burial and Rs 18,000 to 25,000 for a plot kept three years; Kolkata's New Town cemetery buries for Rs 2,500. A market estimate exists for the whole: IMARC puts India's pet funeral services market at USD 68.1 million in 2025, growing at 12.17 percent a year to USD 197.2 million by 2034, a figure built on private operators' prices rather than municipal ones, and printed here as the one such estimate found.

How much they are used: 400 a month in Bengaluru, 120 to 180 in Delhi, about 120 in Chennai, 67 in Ahmedabad

Four facilities publish a throughput. Together they say a big city cremates somewhere between two and fourteen animals a day, and that the free ones fill fastest.

Animals cremated a month at the municipal pet crematoria that publish a figure010020030040040015012067Bengaluru, Sumanahalli (December 2024)Delhi, Dwarka (2026, midpoint of 120 to 180)Chennai, Kannammapet (October 2025 to January 2026)Ahmedabad, Behrampura (February to October 2026)
Animals cremated a month at the municipal pet crematoria that publish a figure. Bengaluru 'nearly 400 animals a month' in December 2024; Delhi '120 and 180 cremations a month' in August 2026, plotted at 150; Chennai 439 in about three and a half months; Ahmedabad 600 in nine months. Pets and strays are counted together at all four. Deccan Herald, 'Bengaluru to get two more…

Bengaluru's Sumanahalli cremated 'nearly 400 animals a month, at least 14 a day' before its chimney collapsed, and in its first six weeks in 2015 had taken 27 dogs and one horse. Delhi's Dwarka centre, designed for 25 a day, handles 120 to 180 a month; Chennai's free facility took 439 in its first three and a half months; Ahmedabad's took 600 in nine, 547 of them pets, with requests on some days for five to seven against a capacity of three at a time. Delhi's contract already provides for more furnaces and further branches if the daily count reaches 25, and Ahmedabad has planned two more.

The strays are the half nobody counts. Ahmedabad's 53 strays in 600 is the only split published; Delhi's 15 of 25 designed places are for street animals brought through municipal channels, and Faridabad built a separate 80-kilogram unit for strays before its pet one. What a city does with the dogs that die on its streets, and that rule 16(7) says must be incinerated if rabies is suspected, is the use these facilities were built for first.

What it takes to build one: Rs 30 lakh to Rs 3 crore, a gas line or a transformer, and a site 250 metres from houses

The build costs on record span a hundredfold. Most of the difference is what the corporation counted into the number.

What each municipal pet or animal crematorium cost to build, as the corporation or its reporter stated it05101520Nagpur, Bhandewadi (revised sanction, 2023)9.50Mumbai, three units with five years of operation (2023)17.00Nagpur, Bhandewadi (original sanction, 2023)3.50Bengaluru, Sumanahalli (2015)3.00Hubballi-Dharwad, two units (2025)1.60Delhi, Dwarka (2023)1.00Hyderabad, Fathullaguda (2022)1.00Pune, Naidu Hospital (2019)0.98Ahmedabad, two planned units (2026)0.60Chennai, Kannammapet (2025)0.50Ahmedabad, Behrampura (2026)0.30
What each municipal pet or animal crematorium cost to build, as the corporation or its reporter stated it. Mumbai's Rs 17 crore covers three incinerators and five years of operation and maintenance; Hyderabad's Rs 1 crore splits the building (GHMC) from the machine (People for Animals); Hubballi-Dharwad's is a 15th Finance Commission grant. Values are as stated, not inflation-adjusted. Nagpur Municipal Corporation

Ahmedabad built its CNG unit for Rs 30 lakh and has planned two more for about Rs 60 lakh; Chennai's gasifier cost Rs 50 lakh; Pune's incinerator building Rs 98 lakh; Delhi's and Hyderabad's about Rs 1 crore each; Hubballi-Dharwad's two units about Rs 53 lakh each; Bengaluru's 2015 facility Rs 3 crore; Mumbai's three with five years of operation Rs 17 crore; and Nagpur's corporation revised its Bhandewadi sanction from Rs 3.50 crore to Rs 9.50 crore in 2023 Gujarat Samachar, '9 Months DT Next, 'Chennai The Bridge Chronicle ThePrint, Heena Fatima The News Minute, 'GHMC builds pet… ETV Bharat, 'Karnataka's First Animal… Citizen Matters, Akshatha M Free Press Journal Nagpur Municipal Corporation. The fuel is the design choice, and most units are gas-fired: PNG in Mumbai and Jamshedpur, CNG in Delhi and Ahmedabad, LPG in Hyderabad and at Nagpur's NGO unit, electricity in Bengaluru and at Mumbai's Mahalaxmi, a gasifier in Chennai, and wood at Faridabad's green furnace, where the claim is 60 to 80 kilograms a cycle against 400 on a pyre.

Siting follows the rules. The Department of Animal Husbandry's guidelines put an incineration site 'at least two hundred fifty meters away from human habitat', and Maharashtra's circular tells its civic bodies to find the space 'near dumping grounds' behind a compound wall, which is where they are: Mumbai's Deonar unit at the abattoir, Hubballi-Dharwad's at its solid waste plants, Nagpur's planned one at the Bhandewadi dump, Delhi's, Hyderabad's and Ahmedabad's inside the sterilisation centres the ABC Rules already require ETV Bharat, 'Karnataka's First Animal… Nagpur Municipal Corporation. Bengaluru's chimney collapse and nine-month closure is the maintenance lesson; Mumbai bought five years of operation into its contract.

What to ask before you book

Whether the pet must be registered with the corporation: Mumbai and Ahmedabad say yes, Chennai does not ask. Whether you can attend and take the ashes home: Chennai and Delhi say yes, the rest do not say. What the fee is on the day, because Bengaluru's has been reported three ways and Pune's not since 2019. And whether the facility is running: Bengaluru's was shut for nine months, and no city publishes a live status. Phone first.

The gaps: a capital with no fee, a state with a circular and no timeline, and the cities with nothing

The map of pet cremation in India is thirteen cities. The absences are the finding.

Bonbeno's guide to what to do when your pet dies in India covers the hours after a death, the private options and the paperwork in the cities with no municipal service.

What a pet owner can do with this table

Six things that follow from the record, in the order a bereaved owner meets them.

  1. Find your city's row, which says who to call, and phone before you travel. Thirteen crematoria are operating, four are not yet open and Ghaziabad's status is unreported; none publishes a live status, and Bengaluru's was shut for nine months.
  2. Have the licence or registration ready. Mumbai's booking page requires the municipal licence for a pet dog and a vet's death certificate for a stray, Ahmedabad's helpline asks for the pet's registration, and Kolkata's New Town cemetery wants a veterinary death certificate before it buries.
  3. Expect the fee to be by weight where there is one. Delhi and Pune charge Rs 3,000 above the band and Jamshedpur stops at 50 kilograms The Bridge Chronicle ThePrint (PTI), 'Jamshedpur gets eastern….
  4. Ask for the ashes if you want them. Chennai returns them on request and Delhi plants a tree in the memory garden; the other facilities do not say.
  5. If the animal may have died of rabies, call the corporation's veterinary officer and do not bury it. The rules require an incinerator.
  6. If your city has nothing, the private price is Rs 5,000 and up Deccan Herald, 'High burial cost strains…, and the Department of Animal Husbandry's guidelines name deep burial as the method where incineration is not possible.

What this table does not measure

Every row was read from a report of the facility, not from a visit or a call, and the limits travel with that.

  • Status is the last report's, not today's. Thirteen facilities are 'operating' because the most recent document says so; Bengaluru's chimney shows how a status can change for nine months without a notice.
  • Fees are the latest reported and are often old. Pune's are from 2019, Ghaziabad's from 2022, Bengaluru's from three reports that disagree; only Ahmedabad's and Delhi's were reported in 2026.
  • Throughput is published by four facilities and counts pets and strays together, except Ahmedabad's split; a 'month' at Chennai is 439 divided by the time since opening.
  • Build costs are not comparable. Mumbai's includes five years of operation, Hyderabad's splits building from machine, Nagpur's is a sanction and not a bill, and none is inflation-adjusted.
  • The list is of facilities that were reported, so a municipal unit that opened without press coverage is missing, and the private sector, which does most of the cremations in the cities with no municipal one, is outside the table by design.
  • The market estimate is one firm's. IMARC's USD 68.1 million is printed because it is the only India figure found, not because its method could be read.

How this report was built

Every figure was read from the document cited, and most rows were first established for Bonbeno's eight city reports of November 2026.

  1. The rules are the Animal Birth Control Rules, 2023 as gazetted, read from the eGazette copy for the local authority's obligations and rule 16(7); the Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying's guidelines K-11/15/2023-LH, read from the copy hosted by the Meghalaya veterinary department; the Maharashtra circular from the Free Press Journal of 26 April 2025; and the Bombay High Court's hearing from PTI's wire of 9 July 2025.
  2. Mumbai is from the Free Press Journal of 15 September 2023 and 16 April 2026 Free Press Journal and the BMC Veterinary Health Department's booking terms; Delhi from ThePrint of 27 December 2023 and The Patriot of 12 August 2026 The Patriot, 'Delhi's first MCD-run pet…; Hyderabad from The News Minute of 5 December 2022 and Telangana Today of 8 October 2023 Telangana Today, 'Hyderabad; Chennai from DT Next of 20 January 2026 and CarryMyPet of 8 October 2025 CarryMyPet, 'Chennai's First Pet…; Pune from The Bridge Chronicle of 4 November 2019.
  3. Bengaluru is from Citizen Matters of 4 January 2016 and the Deccan Herald of 19 December 2024, 20 June 2025 and 10 January 2026 Deccan Herald, 'Bengaluru to get two more… Deccan Herald, 'High burial cost strains… Deccan Herald, 'Sumanahalli animal…; Ahmedabad from DeshGujarat of 9 February 2026 and Gujarat Samachar of 8 October 2026 Gujarat Samachar, '9 Months; Kolkata from the New Town Kolkata Development Authority's service page.
  4. Jamshedpur is from PTI via ThePrint of 1 March 2025; Faridabad from The Tribune of 13 April 2026 and ETV Bharat of 23 January 2026 ETV Bharat, 'Faridabad Launches Dedicated…; Ghaziabad from the Free Press Journal of 22 February 2022; Hubballi-Dharwad from ETV Bharat of 7 October 2025; Nagpur from the Nagpur Municipal Corporation's administrator's resolution of 23 May 2023 and The Hitavada of 8 June 2026. The market estimate is IMARC's India page.
  5. The dataset is the facility table with one row per facility or plot; the charts take the latest reported fee, the published throughputs with Delhi's range at its midpoint and Chennai's total divided by months open, and the build costs as stated. The Surat and Lucknow claims found only on pet-services sites were left out.

Common questions about pet cremation in India

Can I bury my dog at home in India?

No rule this report could find forbids burying a pet on your own land, and the Department of Animal Husbandry's guidelines name deep burial as the method where incineration is not feasible; the Animal Birth Control Rules say the same for a local authority without an incinerator. Two limits apply: a dog suspected to have died of rabies must go to an incinerator or to the district veterinary officer's method, and Maharashtra's 2025 circular tells civic bodies to stop carcasses being disposed of anywhere but their crematoria. Bury deep, away from wells, and not in a shared compound without the society's agreement.

Does pet cremation in India include a certificate?

The municipal facilities' own reports do not mention one, and the documents run the other way: Mumbai's booking page requires the municipal licence for a pet dog and a vet's death certificate for a stray, Ahmedabad's helpline asks for the pet's registration, and Kolkata's New Town cemetery requires a death certificate from a recognised veterinary doctor before it buries. Delhi's facility keeps municipal records and Chennai's returns the ashes; ask the facility for a receipt, which is the paper you will have.

Can I attend the cremation?

At Delhi's Dwarka facility the Green Revolution Foundation hires a priest for a pooja and encourages families to plant a tree in the memory garden, and at Chennai's Kannammapet the ashes can be collected by owners who wish; Ahmedabad describes 'traditional last rites' for the 600 it has cremated. The other facilities' reports do not say, and the Deonar and Hubballi-Dharwad units sit inside abattoir and waste sites, which is where the siting guidelines put them, so ask before you go.

What is the difference between electric cremation and a traditional pyre?

Fuel and temperature. The Department of Animal Husbandry's guidelines define incineration as thermal destruction above 850 degrees Celsius, which Ahmedabad's CNG chamber reaches at 800 to 900 and Bengaluru's 2015 incinerators ran at 600 to 700; the municipal units burn piped or compressed natural gas, LPG, electricity or, in Chennai, a gasifier. Faridabad's green furnace is the one wood-burning municipal-backed unit, using 60 to 80 kilograms a cycle against up to 400 on an open pyre.

How do I find pet cremation services in cities not listed here?

Phone the municipal corporation's veterinary or Animal Birth Control department first, because the Rules require every local authority to have an incinerator at its sterilisation centre and that is where the newest facilities, in Delhi, Hyderabad and Ahmedabad, were built; then your vet, who will know the private services. The thirteen cities in this report are the ones whose facilities have been reported; Surat and Lucknow are said by pet-services sites to be planning, and nothing could be verified for Jaipur, Indore, Bhopal, Kochi or Coimbatore.

Is it legal to scatter pet ashes in a river in India?

No rule this report could find addresses it either way; the carcass rules are about the body, not the ash, and the municipal facilities that return ashes, Chennai's and Delhi's, say nothing about where they may go. Treat it as a question of the river's own rules and of courtesy, and keep the ash out of a drinking-water intake.

Do I need any documents to use a municipal pet crematorium?

In Mumbai, the municipal dog licence for a pet and a photo ID with address proof for a stray, plus a vet's death certificate for the stray; in Ahmedabad, the pet's registration details on the 155303 helpline; at Mumbai's Malad unit an address proof. Chennai's free service asks for none that its reports mention, and Kolkata's New Town cemetery wants a veterinary death certificate. Carry the vaccination record and the licence everywhere; they are the two documents a corporation can ask for.

How much does pet cremation cost in India?

Nothing at Mumbai's Malad crematorium or Chennai's, about Rs 700 at Ahmedabad's, Rs 800 for a dog at Bengaluru's by the latest report, Rs 2,000 at Delhi's and Pune's for a dog under the weight band and Rs 3,000 above it, and Rs 3,000 at Jamshedpur's for a pet up to 50 kilograms; strays are free wherever a rate is stated. Private crematoria charge Rs 5,000 to Rs 8,000 in Delhi and Rs 5,000 and up in Bengaluru, and burial runs from Rs 2,000 to Rs 2,500 at the public grounds to Rs 18,000 and more for a plot kept for years.

Bonbeno is an independent pet reference for India. We do not sell pets, products or services, and no crematorium, operator, NGO, department or civic body paid for or reviewed this report.