Dog and cat legal guide
GCC pet license in Chennai: how to apply, fee, documents, renewal and download
A screen-by-screen walk through the Greater Chennai Corporation pet licence, read from the GCC's own veterinary pages and its TNPMS portal on 18 September 2026: who must apply, the Rs 50 fee, the nine accepted address proofs, the vet check, renewal, the download button, and the December 2025 council decisions on penalties and on Pit Bulls and Rottweilers.
Quick answer
A GCC pet license is the Greater Chennai Corporation's Rs 50 permit for keeping a pet animal at a house in its 15 zones, applied for online at petservice.gccservices.in after the dog is vaccinated against rabies and microchipped, free at the six GCC pet clinics. Sign up with an address proof, register the pet, name a hospital and veterinarian, pay through Razorpay, and download the licence PDF once the vet verifies the animal. The GCC page publishes no validity period or penalty; news reports put the fine at Rs 5,000.
Who must apply for a GCC pet licence
Every pet animal owner keeping a pet at their house inside Greater Chennai Corporation limits must obtain a pet licence from the Corporation, in the words of the GCC's own veterinary page, which files the rule under the label Licensing of Pet Dogs. The same page counts 9,115 pet animal licences issued in 2024 and says the online Pet Animal Licensing system was launched to make the procedure easier.
The Corporation's area is the 15 zones, Zone I to Zone XV, that its veterinary page names for its meat-raid and dog-catching work. A household in Tambaram or Avadi is outside the rule: The Hindu reports that Tambaram corporation residents can use GCC clinic vaccination, but microchipping and registration are not mandatory in that jurisdiction. The GCC's Know your Zone and Division lookup tells you which zone and ward an address falls in, and the sign-up form asks for both Greater Chennai Corporation.
Dogs, cats and the word the GCC uses
The GCC page says pet animals, not dogs, in the sentence that creates the duty. The portal settles what you can register: its species list, served by its own API on 18 September 2026, holds exactly 3 options, Dog, Cat and Others, each printed in English and Tamil. The Hindu reports one difference by species: microchipping is optional for cats and expected for dogs, and both are vaccinated at a clinic before the online registration. This guide follows the dog procedure, the one the Corporation enforces with inspections; a cat owner uses the same screens and skips the chip.
The two laws behind the licence
Two instruments sit behind the Rs 50 licence, and the GCC page names neither. Section 116 of the Chennai City Municipal Corporation Act, 1919 lets the Council levy a half-yearly tax on animals kept within the city, and section 117 makes every person having possession, custody or control of a taxable animal liable for the full half-year once it has been kept in the city for 60 days or more. Rule 7 of the Animal Birth Control Rules, 2023 defines pet animals as dogs owned and kept indoor by individuals, and rule 8(1) puts the deworming, immunisation and sterilisation of a pet animal on its owner. The licence is where those duties meet: the owner proves the immunisation, the Corporation records the animal.
- Apply if you keep a dog or cat at a house, flat or gated community anywhere in the 15 GCC zones.
- Register each animal separately; the licence application is made per pet.
- Check your zone with the GCC lookup first, because the form will not save without a district, zone and ward.
The GCC page publishes no minimum age and no limit on the number of dogs a household may license. Google summarises the Corporation's Facebook post as requiring a dog to be at least 6 months old, but that post was not opened for this guide, so treat the age as not published until the GCC's own page states it.
The fee is Rs 50, and the GCC page does not say what period it covers
The GCC pet licence costs Rs 50, the only figure the Corporation's veterinary page publishes: licences are being issued at GCC after payment of Rs.50/-. That page states no period of validity, no renewal fee and no late fee, so everything about the period below comes from the portal's own screens and from dated news reports, labelled as such.
Rs 50 passes the exchange-rate test this site runs on every rupee figure: 50 divided by 84.38 is 0.59 and by 74 is 0.68, neither a dollar price anyone would print, so it is a rupee-native municipal fee. It is also the smallest cost in the process. A private microchip, priced at Rs 1,250 on one Chennai hospital's own page, or Rs 599 at its 9 November 2025 drive, is the larger sum, and those figures fail both divisions too (14.81 and 16.89, 7.10 and 8.09 dollars). The Corporation's six pet clinics do the chip and the anti-rabies vaccination free of cost, so the Rs 50, paid online, can be the only money you spend The Hindu (news report).
| Source | Fee | Period or validity | What it does not say |
|---|---|---|---|
| GCC veterinary page (the Corporation's own) | Rs 50 | Not stated | No validity, no renewal fee, no penalty |
| GCC portal, licence application | Amount set by the server when the Razorpay order is created; the form prints no figure | Each licence shows a Start Date and an End Date | No fee schedule on any screen GCC pet licence portal |
| GCC portal, renewal form | Prints the line Renewal Fee: Rs.000, a placeholder | Built around the recent vaccination date and a new certificate | No renewal amount as of 18 September 2026 |
| The Hindu, 1 December 2025 (news report) | Rs 50 per pet | Annual | The word annual comes from the Corporation's briefing, not a published order |
| Citizen Matters, 11 November 2025 (news report) | Rs 50 | Validity corresponds to the pet's most recent anti-rabies vaccination date; reminders one month, one week and one day before expiry | Quotes the system integrator, not a GCC order |
| Chennai City Municipal Corporation Act, 1919, Schedule IV Part III | Maximum half-yearly tax on a dog: Rs 2 | Half-yearly, under sections 116 and 117 | The GCC page does not say whether the Rs 50 is this tax or a separate charge |
Why the period matters more than the fee
The period decides when you are unlicensed again, and the two descriptions of it are both news reports. The Hindu calls the Rs 50 an annual fee per pet; Citizen Matters reports that the licence runs to the date of the dog's most recent anti-rabies vaccination, with SMS reminders before expiry Citizen Matters (news report). The two agree for a dog vaccinated once a year and diverge for a dog on a three-year booster. The portal supports the second reading: its renewal form is built around a Recent Vaccination Date and a New Vaccination Certificate Upload, and its licence record carries an End Date rather than a year GCC pet licence portal. Until the GCC publishes the rule, read your licence as ending when the rabies cover ends, and book the booster before the End Date.
The 1919 Act adds a figure no ranking page carries: Schedule IV Part III caps the half-yearly tax on every dog at Rs 2, at rates the Council sets by resolution under section 116. Rs 50 a year is 12.5 times that Rs 4 a year ceiling, and the GCC page does not name the provision under which the Pet Animal Licence is charged, so the two figures are published side by side rather than reconciled. In practice the Corporation charges Rs 50 through Razorpay and nothing on its site says it charges anything else.
Documents and prerequisites: what the portal actually asks for
The GCC portal asks for 1 document at sign-up, an address proof, and 1 file per pet, the pet's photograph; the rabies vaccination and the microchip are entered by the veterinarian you name on the application, not uploaded by you GCC pet licence portal Citizen Matters (news report). The GCC veterinary page lists no documents at all, so this section is read from the portal's own sign-up, registration and renewal forms on 18 September 2026.
Address proof: the nine documents the sign-up accepts
The sign-up form will not send its OTP until an address proof is attached, and it caps the file at 5 MB. Its accepted-documents list holds 9 items: Aadhaar Card, Gas Bill, Landline Bill, Rental Agreement, Property / Water Tax Receipt, Ration Card, Internet Bill, Utility Bill and Driving License. Citizen Matters reports the same requirement as a PDF such as an Aadhaar card, rental agreement or property tax receipt, and adds that the mobile number is mandatory because later communication comes by SMS. The citizen sign-up asks for no owner photograph; the User Photo field belongs to the Corporation's staff app.
- Address proof, one of the 9 listed documents, 5 MB or less, uploaded at sign-up.
- Mobile number, 10 digits, verified by a 6-digit OTP and used for every later reminder.
- Email and a password of 6 to 15 characters; the login takes either the email or the mobile.
- District, zone, ward, address and 6-digit pincode; the state is fixed as Tamilnadu, and up to 3 addresses can be saved.
- Pet photo, JPG or PDF, 5 MB maximum, one per animal.
- Pet details: name, species, breed, gender, date of birth, colour and identification mark, with a typed breed box if you pick Others.
- A hospital and a veterinarian chosen from the portal's dropdowns; the vet records the microchip id and the anti-rabies vaccination against your pet.
The rabies certificate and the microchip
The anti-rabies vaccination is the prerequisite the licence is built on, and the portal treats it as the vet's entry. The application form shows the pet's Sterilized status and Microchip Id from the vet's record, and the Pet View screen lists every vaccination by name and date under a Vaccination List, with a Health Document List for anything else the clinic files GCC pet licence portal. Citizen Matters reports the intended sequence: pay the Rs 50, take the dog to the named vet, who implants the chip and updates the microchip id and ARV details in the application. The Hindu says the same from the Corporation's briefing: vaccinate and microchip at a GCC pet clinic or a private clinic, then apply online with proof. The rabies dose follows the dog vaccination schedule for India, and your nearby vet decides the booster interval for your dog.
Renewal asks for what the first application did not: an Upload Previous License copy, a Recent Vaccination Date, a New Vaccination Certificate Upload and a Sterlization Certificate Upload marked If updated. Keep the clinic's rabies certificate even though the first application never asks for the file.
Paying Rs 50 is not a licence; the vet's entry is. The licence is issued only after the veterinarian you select verifies the animal, and Citizen Matters reports about 400 licences issued against roughly 8,500 registrations in the first weeks, with applications sitting at pending until the vet completed the check. The portal also disables Submit entirely when the chosen breed name contains pit bull terrier (american) or rottweiler.
How to apply online, screen by screen
To apply for a GCC pet licence online, sign up on petservice.gccservices.in/license with an address proof, register the pet, apply for the licence naming a hospital and a veterinarian, pay Rs 50 through Razorpay, and let the vet verify the animal; the licence then appears in your License Application list with a Download License control GCC pet licence portal GCC pet licence portal. The 6 steps below are the portal's own screens as they stood on 18 September 2026.
When this site pulled the search results for this query, petservice.gccservices.in returned an Apache2 Ubuntu default page, and Google still titles the login URL that way. On 18 September 2026 the same address returned HTTP 200 and a working application titled TNPMS, with the root redirecting to a Department login and the pet-owner entry at /license/login. The GCC's feedback link for the pet service returned HTTP 502 on the same attempt. If a screen fails, retry later rather than assume the service is gone.
- Reach the portal. On chennaicorporation.gov.in open Online Services and choose Pet Animal Licence, or click Pet License Registration on the Veterinary page; both point to petservice.gccservices.in. The root of that host lands on the Department login, which links Pet Owner to /license; going straight to petservice.gccservices.in/license/login skips it.
- Sign up. The screen is headed Pet Animal Registration in English and Tamil. Choose Sign Up, enter your name, 10-digit mobile, email and a 6 to 15 character password, pick district, zone and ward (the Know your zone link sits beside the zone box), type the address and pincode, attach the address proof, and press Send OTP; the account is created when you verify the 6-digit OTP Greater Chennai Corporation. Holders of a licence under the earlier system must create a new account, because old credentials do not work on the new portal, according to the integrator quoted by Citizen Matters.
- Register the pet. Sign in, open Pets and choose New Pet Registration. Fill the pet name, species (Dog, Cat or Others), breed from the dropdown or typed, gender, date of birth, identification mark and colour, upload the photo, choose which saved address the animal lives at, tick the declaration that the details are true to your knowledge, and Submit. If the breed contains pit bull terrier (american) or rottweiler, the screen shows the Council-resolution notice and Submit stays disabled.
- Apply for the licence. Open License Application and choose Apply Pet License. Select the pet, check the Pet Information panel (name, species, breed, colour, gender, sterilised status and microchip id), select a hospital and then a veterinarian from that hospital's list, enter a coupon code if you have one, tick the declaration and press Submit.
- Pay Rs 50. The portal creates a Razorpay order and opens the Razorpay window titled Pet License; on success it reports Payment completed and returns you to the licence list, on failure it says Payment failed, try again later. The amount is set by the server, and the GCC page is the only place the figure Rs 50 is printed.
- Get the animal verified, then download. Take the dog to the veterinarian you named; the vet implants or reads the microchip and updates the chip id and anti-rabies vaccination in the record, and the application moves from pending to issued. The row in License Application then shows a licence ID, Start Date, End Date and Payment Status, and its menu offers Download License and the payment receipt as PDFs; an unpaid row offers Complete Payment instead.
Three more things the same account can do
The portal is a pet register, not only a licence counter. The Pet View screen shows an Ownership status with a Change control, and Citizen Matters reports that an ownership transfer is completed by OTP between the old and new owner, so rehoming a licensed dog is done inside the account Citizen Matters (news report). The same screen has a Mark Pet as Deceased control that takes a death certificate as a PDF or image of 5 MB or less. A Query List lets you raise a question against a licence and read the Corporation's replies, and a Travel Certificate Application form exists for international travel, with fields for a passport number, the latest rabies vaccination date and a veterinary health certificate, though its fee line prints Rs.000 like the renewal form's GCC pet licence portal.
Help sits outside the portal. The GCC's site header carries its complaint number, 1913, on every page. Citizen Matters reports a dedicated registration helpline that also takes WhatsApp messages, with the integrator promising a reply within two hours; that number is the news report's, not the GCC page's, so call 1913 first. The portal's own Support / Complaint link opens a separate grievance app at petservice.gccservices.in/grievance, which returned HTTP 200 on 18 September 2026.
Offline: the six GCC pet clinics, and no zonal counter
The GCC names no zonal office and no counter for the pet licence; the application is online, and the only offline stop is one of the Corporation's 6 veterinary pet clinics, which treat and vaccinate pet animals free of cost and, for GCC residents, microchip them free as well Greater Chennai Corporation The Hindu (news report). Treat the clinic as the place for the vet work and the portal as the place for the licence.
| Clinic | Zone | Address |
|---|---|---|
| Thiru-Vi-Ka Nagar Pet Clinic | Zone 6 | No.1, 14th Street, TVK Quarters, Division 67 |
| Pulianthope Pet Clinic | Zone 6 | K.P. Park, opposite and near GCC Park, Chennai 12 |
| Nungambakkam Pet Clinic | Zone 9 | School Road, near Corporation Boys Higher Secondary School, Nungambakkam, Chennai 600036 |
| Lloyds Colony Pet Clinic | Zone 9 | Sudandira Nagar, Lloyds Colony, Royapettah, Chennai 600014 |
| Kannammapet Pet Clinic | Zone 10 | Muthurangan Salai, T. Nagar, near Kannammapet burial ground, Chennai 600017 |
| Meenambakkam Pet Clinic | Zone 12 | No.53/28 B, Nehru High Road, B V Nagar, Nanganallur, Chennai 600061 |
Six clinics for 15 zones means most owners travel; the nearest clinic to a household in Zone 1 or Zone 15 is in another zone, and every clinic keeps the same 8.00 AM to 3.00 PM hours. The Hindu reports the clinics open all days including Sundays for the licensing drive, that an owner gives only a name and phone number at the clinic to have the pet vaccinated and microchipped, and that vaccination is open to owners from other areas while free microchipping is restricted to pets from GCC areas.
What the clinic does and what it does not
A GCC pet clinic gives treatment and the anti-rabies vaccination free of cost for pet animals, and its veterinary assistant surgeons run the zone's rabies vaccination programme. It does not issue the licence: you create the record on the portal, and the vet you name there, whether a GCC clinic vet or a private one from the portal's hospital list, completes it Citizen Matters (news report). Citizen Matters reports licensing camps at the six clinics on three Saturdays from 8 November 2025, with staff on hand to help owners register.
- Take the dog, its vaccination card and your portal login, so the vet enters the chip and the rabies dose against the right record.
- Ask for the 15-digit microchip number in writing; the application form displays it, and inspection teams read it with RFID scanners Citizen Matters (news report) SKS Veterinary Hospital.
- Expect a charge at a private clinic instead, Rs 1,250 for the chip on one Chennai hospital's own page, against Rs 0 at the Corporation clinic Greater Chennai Corporation.
Renewal, download, and what the licence looks like
To download a GCC pet licence, sign in at petservice.gccservices.in/license, open License Application, and choose Download License from the row's menu; the portal returns the licence as a PDF, and the same menu holds the payment receipt. For a licence renewal, open Pet License Renewal, upload the previous licence and the new vaccination certificate, and proceed to payment.
Download: where the button is and when it appears
Each row of the License Application list shows Pet Name, Owner Name, licence ID, Start Date, End Date and a Payment Status of Pending, Completed or No Payment. The row's menu offers Download License when the application has not been rejected, Complete Payment when no payment has succeeded, and a Payment Receipt PDF once one has; a rejected application shows a Rejection Reason instead. The licence cannot be downloaded the moment you pay: Citizen Matters reports the application goes to the named veterinarian after payment and stays pending until the vet updates the chip and vaccination, which is when it is issued.
Renewal: the form and its fields
The Pet License Renewal Application Form is a separate screen with more fields than the first application: Existing License Details with an Upload Previous License copy control, Updated Health and Vaccination Details with a Recent Vaccination Date, a New Vaccination Certificate Upload and a Sterlization Certificate Upload marked If updated, an optional remarks box, and a Declaration and Payment block where you confirm the pet details remain unchanged or updated and press Proceed Payment. Its fee line printed Renewal Fee: Rs.000 on 18 September 2026, a placeholder, so the renewal amount is not published; the only fee the GCC states anywhere is the Rs 50 Greater Chennai Corporation.
- Vaccinate the dog before the End Date on the licence record; Citizen Matters reports the validity follows the most recent anti-rabies vaccination date, with reminders one month, one week and one day before expiry.
- Download the current licence PDF first, because the renewal form asks you to upload the previous copy.
- Upload the new vaccination certificate, and the sterilisation certificate if the dog was sterilised since the last licence.
- Pay through the Razorpay window when the form proceeds to payment, and check the Payment Status column afterwards.
The tag, the certificate, and what is not published
The GCC page describes no tag, no collar and no certificate for a pet licence. What exists is the portal's record: a licence ID with a Start Date and an End Date, the Microchip Id on the pet's record, and the PDF the Download License control returns GCC pet licence portal. The collar with a QR code that the veterinary page describes belongs to the street-dog programme, not to pet licensing. Enforcement rests on the microchip: Citizen Matters reports inspection teams carrying RFID readers to detect the chip and retrieve the stored record. Keep the PDF on your phone and the chip number in your wallet, and you hold everything the Corporation's pages say a licence consists of.
Penalties, deadlines and the Pit Bull and Rottweiler ban
The GCC veterinary page states no penalty for an unlicensed pet, no deadline and no breed restriction; every figure in this section comes from a dated news report of a Corporation announcement or Council resolution, or from the portal's own notice, and is labelled that way. The 3 numbers those reports carry are a Rs 5,000 fine per unlicensed pet, a Rs 1 lakh penalty for an unlicensed Pit Bull or Rottweiler, and a Rs 5,000 fine for walking any dog unleashed or unmuzzled The Hindu (news report).
| Date reported | Source | Deadline | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|
| 11 November 2025 | Citizen Matters (news report) | 23 November 2025 | Rs 5,000 from 24 November for an unregistered, unchipped dog whose owner has not begun registration; door-to-door checks with RFID readers |
| 1 December 2025 | The Hindu (news report) | Extended to 7 December 2025 | Primary fine of Rs 5,000 for each unlicensed pet found in door-to-door inspection after the deadline |
| 8 December 2025 | SKS Veterinary Hospital (a private clinic's page) | Records a further extension to 14 December 2025 | Not stated |
| 20 December 2025 | The Hindu and The New Indian Express (news reports of the Council resolution of 19 December 2025) | Ban on new licences and renewals for Pit Bull and Rottweiler from 20 December 2025 | Rs 1 lakh for owners of those breeds without a licence; Rs 5,000 for a dog not leashed and muzzled outside The New Indian Express (news report) |
The three deadlines are one deadline moved twice, and the fine did not change across them. Rs 5,000 divides to 59.26 dollars at 84.38 and 67.57 at 74, and Rs 1,00,000 to 1,185 and 1,351, so both are rupee-native round figures. Neither figure, and no deadline, is printed on the Corporation's veterinary page as of 18 September 2026, which is why a reader who checks the official page finds only the Rs 50.
The Council resolution of 19 December 2025, and how the portal enforces it
The GCC Council resolved on Friday 19 December 2025 that residents in Corporation limits may no longer apply for new dog licences or renew existing ones for Pit Bull and Rottweiler breeds, described in the resolution as ferocious and aggressive, and the ban took effect the next day. The New Indian Express adds that the resolution cites a rise in pet dog bite complaints attributed to the two breeds, that owners of existing dogs may keep them until the current licence expires, leashed and muzzled in public, and that Corporation sources said such owners may then keep the dogs in places other than Chennai. The reported penalty for keeping either breed without a licence is Rs 1 lakh, and Rs 5,000 for taking any pet dog outside without a leash and muzzle.
The portal enforces the resolution in code. When the breed chosen on the New Pet Registration screen contains pit bull terrier (american) or rottweiler, the form shows an Important Notice headed As per Council resolution of The Greater Chennai Corporation: new purchase, sale, breeding or licensing of Pitbull and Rottweiler dog breeds is not permitted within GCC limits, no new licences or renewals will be issued for these breeds, violations may attract penalties including fines and other legal action, owners are advised not to acquire or relocate restricted breeds into Chennai city limits, and the portal will not accept applications for them; the Submit button is disabled while that breed is selected. The notice names no rupee figure; the Rs 1 lakh is the news reports';. The Rottweiler and American Pit Bull Terrier pages carry the price and law context for those dogs across India.
What the 1919 Act says, and what the 2023 Rules do to it
Section 281 of the Chennai City Municipal Corporation Act, 1919 still reads that dogs not taxed under section 116 and found straying may be summarily destroyed by a person authorised in writing by the commissioner. Rule 22 of the Animal Birth Control Rules, 2023 answers it: a local Act, rule or bye-law prevails only to the extent it is less irksome to the animal than the Rules, and is of no effect to the extent it is more irksome. The GCC's own page describes its street-dog work as catching, sterilising, immunising and releasing to the same area under the 2023 Rules, not as destruction. The GCC pages and the portal state no limit on the number of dogs one household may license; the portal simply lists every registered pet on the account, so that limit is not published rather than nil.
What the ABC Rules 2023 make the Corporation do, and why the licence exists
The Animal Birth Control Rules, 2023 make the Greater Chennai Corporation responsible for sterilising and immunising street dogs and make you responsible for immunising your own, and the pet licence is the Corporation's record of the second duty. Rule 8(1) reads that in the case of pet animals the owner shall be responsible for the deworming, immunisation and sterilisation, and rule 8(2) gives the same duties for street animals to the local authority.
The Rules were notified as G.S.R. 193(E) on 10 March 2023 under the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960, and bind every local authority from Chennai to Delhi and Mumbai; and rule 7 sorts every dog into 2 classes: pet animals, meaning dogs owned and kept indoor by individuals, and street dogs, meaning community owned Indian dogs or abandoned pedigreed dogs which are homeless, living on the street or within a gated campus. A licensed, microchipped dog is the Corporation's proof of which class an animal belongs to when an inspection team meets it. The GCC's page ties its own street-dog work to the same instrument: dogs caught on complaints or from hotspot areas are sterilised, immunised against rabies and released to the same area from where they were caught, as per the Animal Birth Control Rules (2023).
- Rule 9(4) and Schedule II: a local Animal Birth Control Monitoring Committee chaired by the Municipal Commissioner, whose functions include providing guidelines to pet dog owners and commercial breeders from time to time, monitoring dog bite cases to ascertain whether a bite came from a stray or a pet dog, and estimating the number of dogs in its limits by a census in the manner advised by the AWBI.
- Rule 10: kennels and veterinary facilities, vans, incinerators, CCTV in the operation theatre and kennels with a month of recordings kept, records of catching, release, surgery, feeding and vaccination, and a committee that meets at least once every month.
- Rule 11(3), (5), (8) and (9): banners before any capture saying the dogs will be released in the same area, humane net or hand catching with tongs and wires prohibited, a numbered collar so each dog goes back to the area it came from, and no capture of street dogs under six months or of females with a litter under two months.
- Rule 20: feeding of community animals arranged by the Resident Welfare Association, Apartment Owner Association or the local body's representative at designated feed spots.
- Rule 22: a local Act, rule or bye-law prevails only where it is less irksome to the animal than these Rules.
The Corporation's own numbers
The GCC runs 5 Animal Birth Control centres, at BRLC in Zone VI, Lloyds Road in Zone IX, Kannammapet in Zone X, Meenambakkam in Zone XII and Sholinganallur in Zone XV, with 16 dog vehicles and 5 dog catchers in each zone, and it caught 19,640 stray dogs in 2023 and 20,296 in 2024. Every dog through an ABC centre is meant to leave with a QR-code collar and a microchip. Against those 20,296 street dogs in a year stand 9,115 pet licences issued in 2024, the only measure the Corporation publishes of how much of the pet population its register holds.
One local departure from the release rule is on record as a news report. The Hindu reports that the 19 December 2025 Council meeting also approved standard operating procedures under which dogs caught from the campuses of government and public institutions are sterilised and vaccinated as per the 2023 Rules but not released back, going instead to shelters, NGOs or volunteers, with the Corporation paying Rs 50 per dog per day for feeding. How that sits with rule 11(8) and rule 22 is a question for the courts; the free-ranging dogs in India guide carries the Supreme Court sequence behind it. For a pet owner the consequence is narrower: a chipped, licensed dog found off a lead is identifiable as a pet under rule 7 within seconds, and an unchipped one is not Citizen Matters (news report).
The GCC licence is not KCI registration, and the chip is neither
A GCC pet licence is a municipal record that a named owner at a Chennai address keeps a vaccinated animal; a Kennel Club of India registration is a pedigree record of the dog's parentage; a microchip is an identification number under the skin. The portal asks for none of the second: its registration form has fields for name, species, breed, gender, date of birth, colour, identification mark and a photo, and no field for a KCI number.
| Document | Issued by | What it records | Where it is required |
|---|---|---|---|
| GCC pet licence | Greater Chennai Corporation, through petservice.gccservices.in, for Rs 50 | Owner, address, zone and ward, pet details, hospital and veterinarian, microchip id, Start Date and End Date | Every pet animal kept at a house in the 15 GCC zones GCC pet licence portal |
| Microchip | A GCC pet clinic free of cost, or a private clinic for a fee such as the Rs 1,250 one Chennai hospital lists | A 15-digit number read by an RFID scanner and stored against the licence record | Expected for licensed dogs, optional for cats, per The Hindu's report of the Corporation's briefing SKS Veterinary Hospital |
| KCI registration | Kennel Club of India, through the breeder's litter registration | Pedigree: the dog's registered parents and its name in the studbook | Nowhere in the licence process; the portal accepts any breed name, including Others GCC pet licence portal |
The distinction cuts both ways. A KCI-registered dog with no GCC licence is an unlicensed dog to an inspection team, and a street-born dog registered as Others on the portal, with a chip and a rabies dose, is a fully licensed pet GCC pet licence portal. What a kennel club paper proves and costs is set out in KCI registration explained; the procedure in Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Pune and Kolkata is in dog registration in India, and Hyderabad is answered in the questions below.
Breeds you will meet on the Chennai form
The breed dropdown is only a description, but it is the field the Council resolution keys on, so pick the true one. The dogs most often registered as Others are the Indian Pariah Dog and its mixes, which the Others option and typed breed box exist for. Tamil Nadu's own Rajapalayam, Chippiparai and Kombai are registered under their names, and the Labrador Retriever, the city's commonest pedigree pet, likewise. Only 2 breed names trigger the block, pit bull terrier (american) and rottweiler, and the match is on the dropdown name, so a dog registered under a cross name is not blocked by the code even where the Council resolution reaches it The Hindu (news report).
Two other registrations that share the word
A pet shop or a dog breeder registers with the Tamil Nadu Animal Welfare Board, not the Corporation, under the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Pet Shop) Rules, 2018 and the Dog Breeding and Marketing Rules, 2017; the Board's site takes both applications online and its guidelines require the certificate to be displayed in the shop Ministry of Environment. And a household in Hyderabad registers on the GHMC's CURE Pet Animal License portal, whose first screen is a Citizen Mobile Authentication by OTP, not on any Chennai system.
Common questions about the GCC pet licence
How do I apply for a pet license in Greater Chennai Corporation (GCC)?
Sign up at petservice.gccservices.in/license/login with your name, mobile, email, district, zone, ward, address and an address proof of 5 MB or less, verify the OTP, register the pet with its photo, then open License Application, choose Apply Pet License, select the pet, a hospital and a veterinarian, and pay Rs 50 through Razorpay. The licence is issued after that vet records the microchip and anti-rabies vaccination against the pet.
How to get a pet license in Hyderabad?
Through the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation's CURE Pet Animal License portal at petanimal.ghmc.gov.in, under the Government of Telangana. Its first screen, Pet Animal Registration, is a Citizen Mobile Authentication: enter the mobile number, Send OTP, Submit OTP; the login then asks for the mobile, a password and a captcha. That page publishes no fee and no document list, so confirm both with the GHMC. Other cities are compared in the dog registration in India guide at /guides/dog-registration-india/.
How to download gcc pet license?
Sign in at petservice.gccservices.in/license, open License Application, open the pet's row menu and choose Download License; the portal returns the licence as a PDF, and the same menu offers the Payment Receipt. The control appears only for an application that has not been rejected and only after the named veterinarian has verified the animal; until then the row reads Pending, and an unpaid row shows Complete Payment instead. Checked on the portal on 18 September 2026, when it returned HTTP 200.
How do I get a pet shop license in Tamil Nadu?
A pet shop registers with the Tamil Nadu Animal Welfare Board, not the Corporation, under the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Pet Shop) Rules, 2018. Rule 4(2) sends the application to the State Board in Form I with a non-refundable fee of five thousand rupees, rule 4(6) has a State veterinarian inspect the shop within three months, and rule 4(11) makes the certificate valid for five years, renewable for the same fee. The Board's site at tnawb.tn.gov.in/apply/petshop takes the application online after a login; its office is at 13/1, 3rd Seaward Road, Valmiki Nagar, Thiruvanmiyur, Chennai 600041, open Monday to Friday 10 AM to 5.45 PM.
How to get a license for pets in Chennai?
The Greater Chennai Corporation issues the licence to any pet animal owner keeping a pet at their house in its 15 zones, after payment of Rs 50, through the online Pet Animal Licensing system linked from its Online Services page as Pet Animal Licence. Get the animal vaccinated against rabies and, for a dog, microchipped, free at one of the six GCC pet clinics, then complete the sign-up, pet registration and licence application on petservice.gccservices.in. The Corporation issued 9,115 such licences in 2024.
What are the fees for a pet license in Chennai?
Rs 50, the only figure the GCC veterinary page publishes, paid online through Razorpay at the end of the licence application. The page states no period and no renewal fee; The Hindu's report of 1 December 2025 calls it Rs 50 per pet per year, and the portal's renewal form printed a placeholder, Renewal Fee: Rs.000, on 18 September 2026. Vaccination and microchipping at a GCC pet clinic are free, so the Rs 50 can be the whole cost; a private clinic's chip is separate, one Chennai hospital listing Rs 1,250.
How do I get a pet license in India?
India has no national pet licence. The Animal Birth Control Rules, 2023 place the deworming, immunisation and sterilisation of a pet animal on its owner in rule 8(1), and each municipal corporation records that through its own licence under its local Act: the GCC portal for Rs 50 in Chennai, the GHMC's CURE portal in Hyderabad, and other cities' own counters and fees, compared in the dog registration in India guide at /guides/dog-registration-india/. The common requirement everywhere is a current anti-rabies vaccination certificate from your nearby vet.
Does the GCC pet licence cover cats?
Yes in practice. The GCC page says pet animal owners must obtain the licence while labelling the section Licensing of Pet Dogs, and the portal's own species list, served by its API on 18 September 2026, offers exactly three choices, Dog, Cat and Others, so a cat is registered and licensed on the same screens. The Hindu's report of the Corporation's briefing adds the one difference: microchipping is optional for cats, and cats are vaccinated at the clinic before the online registration like dogs.
Can I license a Rottweiler or Pit Bull in Chennai?
Not since 20 December 2025. The GCC Council resolved on 19 December 2025 that no new licences and no renewals would be issued for Pit Bull and Rottweiler breeds in Corporation limits, with a reported Rs 1 lakh penalty for keeping either without a licence and Rs 5,000 for any dog taken out unleashed or unmuzzled, per The Hindu's report of the resolution. The portal enforces it: a breed name containing pit bull terrier (american) or rottweiler shows the Council-resolution notice and disables Submit. Owners of existing dogs were reported as allowed to keep them until the current licence expires.